Best Answer

Yes, as long as no one on either team touches it before the 10 yards. After the ball travels ten yards during a kickoff it is a free ball. That's correct. Once the ball travels 10 yards, anyone can recover it.

The receiving team can always recover after anydistance. So if an onside kick only travels 5 yards instead of the required 10 and the receiving team recovers, the receiving team would take possession of the ball at that spot.

The 10-yard rule is a restriction on the kicking team only. The kickers cannot recover the ball until is has traveled 10 yards, UNLESS the receiving team touches the ball first. After the receiving team touches the ball, the kicking team can recover, regardless of how far the ball has traveled.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: After a kickoff if it travels over 10 yards is it anyone's ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why dont kicking teams get to recover on a 40 yard kickoff onside kicks are if ball travels over 10 yards?

As long as the ball ges 10 yards and is grounded at some point during the kick it is a free ball and may be recovered in the field of play by either team.

If a NFL kickoff travels 40 yards hits the ground and is picked up by a member of the kicking team why does the ball go to the receiving team instead of the kicking team due to onside kick rules?

The question is the correct assessment. If a ball travels more than 10 yards, hits the ground in bounds, and the kicking team gains possession of the ball, the ball is dead and the kicking team is on offense.

Can the kicking team advance the ball on an onside kickoff after it traveled 10 yards?

The free kick is considered one of two types of kickoffs even though it uses a drop kick, according to the NFL rules:"Once the ball is touched by the receiving team or has gone 10 yards, it is a free ball." Conversely, there are the same penalties if it goes out of bounds so it risks a 30 yd penalty. Yes. The rules for a free kick after a safety are the same as the rules for a free kick after a touchdown or field goal. Agreed. Just two points of clarification on the original answer: 1. The free kick after a safety isn't a drop kick. A drop kick is a specific type of kick in which the ball is struck after it bounces off the ground. What you usually see after a safety is just a punt without a line of scrimmage in front of the kicker. 2. An onside kick that goes out of bounds doesn't incur the 30-yard penalty. The receiving team gets the ball at the spot where the ball went out of bounds.

High school rules on punts and kick off?

Can a kickoff team catch the ball in the air if it has gone 10 yards

If a ball travels 40 yards in 4.3 seconds how fast is it going?

It is going about 9.3 yards per second; 40/4.3.

How do you find net yards per kickoff?

Take the total yards from where the ball was kicked to where it was caught and then subtract the amount of yards gained on the return.For example:Kickoff from the 30 yard line, ball received at opposite 10 yard line = 60 yardsBall returned to the 25 yard line: 60-15 = 45 net yards