answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The balk is void if the ball is hit. Just as if there was no balk called. If your batter hits the balked pitch and grounds out then he is out. Runners advance at their own risk.

This is dependent on the league that is being played. In high school, a balk is immediate meaning that if the ball is hit it means nothing and the runners all move up a base. But in some leagues, it is a delayed balk. This means that if the batter reaches base and all runners move up a base the balk is waved off. At no point does the balk benefit the defense. A balk is a punishment to deceiving the offensive players or in this case the runners. So in reality the balk at no point turns void unless the offense benefits from the play.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-11 20:55:13
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: A balk is called with runners on base and the batter hits the ball for an out. What happens?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

With runners on base a balk is called does the batter get a ball called?

No. A balk only affects base runners. Each base runner gets to advance one base when a balk is called.


Could a balk be called without runners on base?

A balk can only be called when there are runners on base.


Can a batter get awarded first base on a balk if there the count has 3 balls and there are no runners on base?

No. A balk affects only runners and is called when there is at least one runner on base. The penalty for a balk is that all runners are allowed to advance one base. The batter is awarded nothing regardless of whether or not there are runners on base at the time of the balk. Incorrect...per MLB rule book...If a balkable offense is committed with no runners on base, a ball is awarded to the hitter.


Runner on 1st balk is called on pitcher before the batter hits the ball?

In Major League Baseball a Balk is a delayed dead ball. That means that if the pitcher pitches the ball after the Balk is called, the umpire waits to see what happens before calling time and enforcing the Balk. If the batter hits the ball, and reaches base safely, and all runners advance at least one base, the Balk is ignored.


What happens to a pitcher if a bok is called on them?

If a "Balk" is called, all runners on base advance to the next base.


The batter hits the ball over the fence and a balk was called what happens?

A balk is called before the pitch -- therefor anytime a balk is called it is a no pitch. I guess if there is a situation where the umpires allow the pitcher to finish a pitch, yet still call a balk and the batter hits the ball then nothing would happen -- this would be similar to a pitch thrown when umpire grants timeout before hand. When the balk is called the runners will advance 1 base -- if there is no runners on, then there is no reason for the umpire to call a balk, it would just be an illegal pitch, which is still a live ball in play --- the batter can swing if he wants, but if he decides not to the pitch is a ball no matter if it crosses in the strike zone or not


Pitcher fails to address batter while runners are on base?

In MLB, it is a balk.


How do you use the word balk in a sentene?

"After a Balk was called on the pitcher, the runners were allowed to advance one base."


What makes a balk?

The vast majority of Balks are called on the pitcher, but a Balk can also be called on the catcher. With runners on base, if the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the pitcher releases the ball, it's Balk on the catcher. When this happens, it is almost always while attempting to give an intentional base on balls.


Does a batter advance to first on a balk?

No, the only player/ players that are on base advance 1 base. A balk is a movement by the pitcher that the umpire considers an attempt by the pitcher to deceive the baseunner or runners.


If a balk occurs with bases loaded does the hitter advance to first base?

No. If a balk occurs with the bases loaded all three runners advance one base, however, the batter does not advance to first base.


If a pitcher balks and nobody on base. What happens?

A balk only happens in a pickoff attempt when the pitcher goes into his/her windup and seems lik they are pitching,but then throws to the base. The runner then gets to take a base. Since a balk only happens on a pickoff attempt which means someone is on base you can not balk with no runners on base.

People also asked