Best Answer

The team with the best won-loss record plays the wild card team, leaving the other two division winners to play each other.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-09-04 16:23:07
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What divisions play against each other in the Major League Baseball playoffs?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How many minor league divisions are there in baseball?

There are 19 minor league divisions in baseball

When did Major League Baseball expand to 3 divisions?

1995 ... right after the strike in 1994 that wiped out the last 50 or so games of the season and the playoffs.

What divisions play against each another in the MLB playoffs?

The winners of the East, Central and West divisions are automatic playoff participants in the National League and the American League. Also, the teams with the best second-place records go in as wild cards.

How do baseball teams make the playoffs?

Playoff teamsThere are two Leagues in Major League Baseball. The American League and National League. Each league is divided into three divisions. East Central, and West. The winner of each division at the end of the regular season goes on to the playoffs, and he team with the best record that finishes in second place wins the wild card spot. The four teams in each league play each other in the playoffs and the winner moves on to the World Series.

How is the wild card team determined in Major League Baseball?

Each league has five teams make the Playoffs. Each league has its teams broken into three divisions. The winning team of each division makes the Playoffs. The Wild Card teams are the teams with the 2 best records in their league during the Regular season that did not win a division.

How many divisions are in Major League baseball?


Has the Major League Baseball playoffs always have 3 rounds starting with 8 teams?

No. Prior to 1969, there were no division in either league. Whichever team in each league had the best regular season record was the league's representative in the World Series. So, prior to 1969, only one team from each league made the playoffs and the only playoff round was the World Series. Starting in 1969, each league divided its teams into two divisions, the East and the West. The winners of the divisions would play each other in a playoff series (American/National League Championship Series) and the winner of that series would be the league's representative in the World Series. Two teams made the playoffs from each league and there were two rounds in the playoffs. Starting in 1994, each league was divided into three divisions, the East, Central, and West. The winners of each division would make the playoffs along with the one non division winner that had the best overall regular season record from each league. Four teams make the playoffs from each league. This is currently how the playoffs are done in MLB. There are three rounds in the playoffs, the American/National League Divisional Series, American/National League Championship Series, and the World Series.

How many teams make the Major League Baseball playoffs?

8 teams make the MLB playoffs.

In post season baseball how do you become eligible for post season play?

There are three divisions in each the American and National League. Four teams make the playoffs in each league. The winner of each division plays in the postseason, and the team with the best record in ecah league that came in second place wins the Wild card spot in the playoffs.

What is a wildcard in baseball?

After all the divisions have been clinched, there are 3 playoff teams in each league. The wildcard race then begins.The teams that are in 2nd place in each division of the league race until the end of the season when the best 2nd place team in the league advances to the playoffs.

How do you qualify for the playoffs in MLB?

There are four teams from each league that make the playoffs. Each league is divided into three divisions. Each division winner gets an automatic bid to the playoffs. There is a fourth team from each league that makes the playoffs and this team is called the 'wildcard' team. The wildcard team is the team that has the best overall win loss record of those teams that did not win their division.

Can 3 teams in major league baseball in the same division gone to the playoffs?

No, the playoffs are designed so that the three division winners in each league are automatically in the playoffs. A wild card team in each league makes the playoffs with the best record among non-division winners.

People also asked