Best Answer

yes . man on 3rd scores when outfielder drops easy fly ball. runner would have scored even if the ball was caught.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a batter that reaches base due to error get an RBI?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If a batter reaches 1st base on an error and a runner scores because of her hit does she earn an rbi even though she received a base because of an error?

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.

Does a batter get a RBI if he gets on base by a error of a fielder?


Are there any circumstances by which a batter that reaches base due to an error can get an RBI?

yes, for example with a runner on 3rd with less than 2 out, if he hits a ball deep enough to be a sacrifice fly but the outfielder drops it, the batter will get an RBI because he would have got one without the error

Does the batter get an RBI if there's an error?

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.

Does the batter get an RBI if he reaches on an error?

yes if a run crosses at all it is a RBI for someone This is not always true. For instance, no RBI is awarded if the batter hits into a double play, even though a run crosses.

Does a batter get an RBI if he hits in a runner that got on base due to an error?


If one gets on base by an error and scores on a hit by another batter does that batter get a RBI?

Of course. They did Bat you in to score. How you got on base to begin with doesn't matter.

Does a batter get an rbi if he reaches on error?

No, RBIs are not awarded to a batter if he ROE (reached on error) and it would be listed as an unearned run for the pitcher. An RBI can be awarded at the discretion of the scorekeeper if the scorekeeper feels the run would have scored regardless of the error. For example a runner is on 3rd base with 1 out and the batter hits a fly to deep center. The outfielder drops the fly ball allowing the batter to be awarded with a sac fly reach on error and an RBI... If there were 2 outs in this situation no RBI would be awarded. Runner on 3rd ball hit to shortstop and the shortstop boots it or throws it away and it is the scorers discretion if the run would have scored anyways on the play, if less than 2 outs. If 2 outs then no RBI

If a batter reaches base via a fielders choice is it counted as a hit?

No it counts against a players average but if a run scores it counts as an rbi.

Does batter get RBI If runner he drives in got on by error?


Does a batter get credited with an RBI if he hits into an error and a run scores?


Do you get an RBI if you reach on an error?

Usually, no. But the scorer may award an RBI if, in his or her judgment, the run would have scored even had the out been made. One example might be a routine, but deep, fly ball, where the runner would have scored even if the catch had been made. I think you might be asking this question the wrong way: If a run scores BECAUSE OF an error, then you don't get an RBI. However, it's entirely plausible to get an RBI on a play in which you reach on an error, as above, or an RBI groundout in which the runner would have scored from 3rd but the batter should have been retired. The question of whether you get the RBI is not a matter of whether the BATTER reaches via error, but whether the guy who scores, SCORES because of the error.