answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Two balls and two strikes

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-05-29 00:28:51
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Batter has a count of 2 and 1 and foul tips the ball what is the count now?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


If a batter foul tips a pitch that is caught by the catcher can a base runner steal?

In MLB, yes. According to MLB rules, a foul tip is a ball that is tipped by the batter that goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. It is considered a swinging strike and not a foul ball.


What is a foul tip out?

it is when the batter tips the ball but the catcher catches it and it is called an out because it is the same thing as someone fouling the ball but a pop up but catching it.


Are foul tips considered a dead ball?

no, they are only dead when it hits the umpire. a foul tip counts as a strike unless you already have 2 strikes then it dont count.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


Is it an out if the batter foul tips the ball and it goes in an arc below the batter's head into the catcher's glove?

Yes. Many people learned that the ball must go over the batter's head, or at least six feet high, in order for it to be considered an out when caught. However baseball rules only make an exception for a foul tip, which is defined as follows:"A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand."A ball that traveled in an arc before being caught would be considered a foul ball, and catching it would retire the batter, regardless of whether or not it went over the batter's head. As a practical matter, the case described in the question is very unlikely, so the practical difference between the actual rule of foul tips (sharp and direct) and what many believe the rule to be (below the batter's head or under six feet) is probably irrelevant.


Does a foul tip go faster than the pitch?

It depends on the type of foul tip. If you cause the ball to spin fast on a foul tip it will speed up, if you change the spin of the ball it will slow down. With this said, pitchers in baseball generally put "top spin" on their pitches meaning it is spinning forward -- so if the batter swings underneath the ball and foul tips it, then the ball will speed up as the spin will go faster after contact with the bat. If the batter swings over top of the ball and foul tips it, then the ball will slow down more then likely as it will cause the spin of the ball to change to "back spin" Now in the eyes of the field the spins will be opposite.. when a batter hits the ball in play but swings under the ball it will put backspin on the ball for the fielder, if he swings on top of the ball it will cause "top spin" -- that is why ground balls and line drivers are generally traveling faster then the pitch did, and fly balls travel slower then the pitch


I would like to know the names of the batter pitcher catcher when a single time at bat hit the most foul tips ever recorded and number of foul tips and year it happened?

Dave Bob and Jim


Do basketball tips count for rebounds?

No, by definition, you must have full possession of the ball in order for it to count as a rebound.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher stops it with his chest protector and then catches it is it a out?

I don't know for a fact, but I would guess yes. It's a case of the player "bobbling" the ball, and then gaining control of it. ---- According to MLB Rules, the definition of a foul tip is: "A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat to the catcher's hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the catcher's glove or hand." By definition, if the ball hits the catcher's glove or hand and then hits the chest protector, it can be caught by the catcher and considered a foul tip. If the ball hits the chest protector first, the ball it is considered a foul ball and not a foul tip and the catcher cannot catch it for an out.


Is it considered a foul if a backrow setter tips the ball over the net while her feet are on the still floor but the ball is above the top of net?

No, that is called a setter dump

People also asked