answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the run counts if the runner on 3rd base tags up and then crosses the plate prior to the runner on 2nd base being picked off.

If the player covering 2nd base fields the ball from the center fielder and tags the base for out # 3 prior to the runner on 3rd crossing the plate, the run would not count.

Correction:

Sorry I found the answer a bit confusing.

The run would count if the throw from CF to home was not in time and the runner on third touches the plate before being tagged. However the run would not count if there is an appeal to 2nd and the runner at 2nd never comes back to touch. The run would not count in this situation. This is considered a force out and no runs count on a force out for out number 3.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-09-11 20:48:48
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: With runners on second and 3rd with 1 out batter hits a fly ball to CF 3 base runner tags up second base runner leaves too soon does the run count?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How can a triple play occur without any fielder touching the ball after it leaves the pitcher's hand?

Runners on first and second. Batter pops it up and is out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and is out. The remaining runner is hit by the pop fly. Unassisted triple play.


What is a lead runner?

The lead runner is the runner at the base closest to home plate when there is more than one runner on base. If there are runners on second base and third base, the runner on third base is the lead runner. If there are runners on first and second, the runner on second is the lead runner. If there is only one runner on base, there is no lead runner.


Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

That depends on whether a runner is forced to vacate a base when a ground ball is hit. If there is a runner on first base and a ground ball is hit, the runner is forced to run to second base because the batter is running to first base. If there is also a runner on second base, that runner is forced to run to third because the runner from first is running to second. If a runner is not forced to run, they do not have to. If there are runners on first base and third base and a ground ball is hit, the runner at first is forced to run to second because the batter is running to first. But the runner on third is not forced to run because no runner is running to third base from second base.


If the bases are loaded with one out and a batted ball hits a runner on second what is the call?

Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. The only exception is, if a runner is touching his base when touched by an infield fly, he is not out. This is to protect the runner from being doubled off. However if the runner leaves his base during a infield fly situation and is touched by the ball, both he and the batter are out. In the above situation the call would be, runner on second base called out. Ball is dead and the batter is credited with a hit, forcing the runner on first to second and the runner at third holds his position. Base loaded and two outs., this is assuming that the runner on 2nd base was in front of the infield.


If a batter bunts with a runner on second base would this be a sacrifice?

Yes. If the batter turns around and bunts with a runner or runners on base in an attempt to move them up a base while giving himself up as an out the play is considered a sacrifice.


Can base runners advance on a hit by pitch?

When a batter is hit with a ball, it is a dead ball. Runners may advance to the next based only if they are forced to do so (e.g. If there are runners on first and third, only the runner on first may advance because they are 'forced' to go to second. The runner on third remains on third).


With runners on first and second how can a triple play occur without the fielder touching the ball and to which mlb team has this occured?

The batter hits a pop-fly making him out due to the infield fly rule. The runner on first passes the runner on second and the ball hits the runner on second. I dont know who it happened to.


Two runners occupying third base can a runner go back to second?

The second runner can, assuming he hasn't crossed in front of the lead runner. If he does that, they are both called out.


WHAT IS Runners moved up in baseball box score?

it means that all the runners move up a base, like runner on first move to second and the runner on second move up to third etc.


What is force play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


Who was the runners-up team?

well a runner up is in second place so any team that is in second place is a runner up team


What is the most steals a team can get in an inning without scoring a run?

Ten - First batter reaches steals two bases tagged out at plate. Second batter does the same. Third batter steals two bases and fourth batter steals one. Ten is the answer but alternatively, first batter gets on and steals two bases (2). Next batter reaches first and steals second (3). Third batter reaches first and now with three runners on each base a triple steal could be executed with the 3rd base runner being tagged out (5). Repeat last sentence, (7). Then the fifth batter gets walked, and a triple steal is attempted. The runner from third gets caught in a rundown. The runner from second steals third (8). The runner from first steals second and third (10). Then one of the three runners now between third and home gets tagged out before the lead runner can score.

People also asked

When a batter is hit by a pitch is it counted as a hit or a walk in the record book?

View results

If an outfielder juggles a fly ball with runners on base and he eventually catches the ball do the runners still have to tagup before advancing to the next base?

View results

Do runners have to advance on a ground ball?

View results

If a batter bunts with a runner on second base would this be a sacrifice?

View results

If baseball jersey hit by pitch called a hit by pitch?

View results

Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

View results