answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It is a fielders choice

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-03-24 01:10:43
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: With runners in 2nd 3rd a ball is batted to the pitcher the pitcher looks the runner at 3rd back but makes no play or throw to any base Is this a base hit or fielders choice?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

How can fielders choice cause a balk?

It can't ... a balk can only be committed by a pitcher.


Is it a fielders choice with one out and runner on third and batter grounds out to first with runner on third scoring?

Anytime the batter is put out at 1st base on a batted ball it is not considered a fielders choice, it is simply a put out. Now in your scenario if the catcher would have thrown home and the runner coming from 3rd is out and the batter is safe at 1st, then in that case it would be a fielders choice


When a runner that has reached from another pitcher is put out on a fielders choice and another runner that has reached scores why does it count as an earned run to the previous pitcher?

cuz they left that man on


Do you get an RBI on a Fielder's choice?

Yes you would get an RBI on a fielders choice. If a runner scores on any batted ball the batter will get an RBI, whether an out is made or not.


Does a fielders choice count as an at-bat?

If scored as a Fielders Choice it will go down as 0-1 (an AB with no hit) -- tigersy2k3


Is it a hit when an infield attemps a fielder's choice and the runners are all called safe with no errors?

No matter what, in a fielders choice play the batter is given and 0 for 1 in the record books. It is based on the thought that if the defense had attempted a play on the batter he most surely would have been out. You misunderstood the question. If a fielder's choice is attmpted, but all runners are save and no error is scored it's a hit ... since the fielder's choice didn't actually happen.


Does a batter who hits into a fielders choice and has an rbi get credited with an at bat or is it scored like a sacrifice?

Yes, the batter is credited with an at-bat and scored as a fielders choice.


Do you get an rbi on fielders choice?

sometimes


Can you score a run on 3rd out fielders choice?

No.


Does fielders choice count as an at bat?

Yes.


Does a fielders choice count as a plate apperance?

Yes Any event after a player appears at the plate -- even being hit by the pitcher on the first pitch -- is counted as a plate appearance.


Can a fielders choice count as time at bat?

Yes


How many ways can a player reach first base?

1. Base Hit 2. BB 3. HBP 4. E 5. Fielders Choice 6. Dropped 3rd Strike 7. Catchers Interference 8. Runners


Can you receive a base hit on a fielders choice?

maybe... maybe not!


Can a batter get a base hit and have a fielders choice on the same play?

No.


How does a fielders choice effect batting average?

It does not count as an at bat


Is a bunt ever scored as a fielders choice and counted as a at bat?

Yes


Does a fielders choice count against your batting average?

yes it's an at bat


Does beating out a double play count as a hit?

No it goes down as a fielders choice.


Can an error be charged on a successful fielders choice?

No. No error can ever be given when there is an out made on the play.


If batter hits high bouncer to pitcher with runners on third and second and the pitcher holds runner on third then throws to first and the batter is safe is this a hit or error by pitcher?

Most likely it is neither a hit nor an error. In most cases this would be scored a "Fielder's Choice". It could be a hit if, in the scorers judgement, the batter would have beat the throw to first had the pitcher not hesitated to hold the runner. It would not be an error unless the pitcher bobbled or misplayed the ball. To clarify, a "Fielder's Choice" can be recorded even if an out is not registered.


If a ball is hit to the outfield with batters at first and second and the runner gets out at third is it a fielders choice?

no, the fielder had no choice to throw out the hitter at first.


Does a fielders choice count as an at bat if a run scores on the play?

A fielder's choice is always an at bat. The book would be marked as an FC with RBI.


Can a manager substitute a pitcher after he has thrown a pitch to a batter?

Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.


Seven ways to reach first base?

Hit, hit by pitch, intentional walk, cathers interference, pinch runner, errror, fielders choice, dropped third strike, balk, overturned out call, fielders obstruction,