answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-15 01:53:53
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and hits a batter is that a walk?

No it is a hits batsmen. The batter gets first base and the ball is ruled dead. Everyone who is forced moves up one base.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


Is it a strike if the catcher doesn't catch a strike?

The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.


What happens in rounders when there is only one batter left?

They go homeplate


Can the catcher touch the batter while throwing to 3RD base?

The catcher is allowed to touch the batter while throwing to any base. However, the batter must not move into the catcher's path. If the batter does and the catcher makes contact with the batter, it is called as Interference. If Interference is called during a steal attempt, the runner must go back to their original base.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


When has batter entered the batter's box?

When any foot crosses into the box.


Who is the person who behind the batter?

The catcher, and behind the catcher is the Umpire.


How do you score a batter being called out for stepping on homeplate during a bunt?

2 unassisted. Any batter or runner called out on account of a rule is scored as the action of the nearest player.


Batter hits a pitch and the ball bounces and hits the batter is he out?

If the batter is in fair territory, the batter is out. If the batter is not in fair territory, for example the batter is still in the batter's box, the ball is called foul.


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


Has a catcher ever been hit by the batter?

Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.


Catcher interfers with batter and tags runner from third out ruling?

yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


If a ball bounces before it crosses the plate and is batted into fair territory is it a hit?

If the ball lands in the dirt and the batter swings at it, I believe that is a strike, even if he hits it into fair territory. This is another one that may have to be improved by somebody else if I'm wrong, but I don't think I am on this one.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


What happens if a pitched ball bounces and the batter hits it?

It is considered a legally batted ball subject to being a fair or foul ball. Also, if a pitched ball bounces in the dirt and strikes the batter, the ball is dead and the batter receives first base as he was legally hit by a pitched ball.


Is the batter out if the ball bounces off another player and it is caught before hitting the ground?

Depends. If the ball bounces of a defensive player, and is caught, the batter is out. If it hits a runner, the ball is dead and the runner is out but the hitter is awarded first base.


Batter interferes with catcher after striking out runner stealing and safe at second is runner out for batter's interference or returned to first base?

returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop