The catcher needs to catch the ball because the ball is still a "live" ball. (Unless it's a foul ball that the catcher wouldn't likely catch that anyway.
Any base runners may advance when the ball is "live" at their peril. If the ball is not caught, there isn't much peril to runners running to the next base.
Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.
If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.
In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.
A catcher is stationed behind the batter and in front of the umpire. His job is to tell the pitcher what kind of pitch to throw, and then catch the pitch. He is also responsible for throwing runners out who are trying to steal bases.
The batter can run to first if the 3rd strike isn't caught. However, the batter still can be thrown out by the catcher at first base. Yes. A strike is called if the ball crosses home plate at the correct height, which is usually between the knees and the letters. A pitched ball does not have to be caught by the catcher to be called a strike.
They say that a dream catcher is to catch bad dreams.
A moray catcher is also known as a fisherman for eels. That is, they hunt and catch eels like fishermen catch fish.
The batter can advance because the ball is still live, same as every runner on any base. The catcher must catch the ball directly from the pitcher to complete a strikeout.
There is a rule in baseball known as the uncaught third strike rule. This rule states that a catcher must catch the ball from the pitcher on a third strike for an out to be recorded. If, on a third strike, the pitched ball touches the ground before reaching the catcher or the catcher does not cleanly catch the ball, the batter becomes a runner and may advance to first base and must be tagged or thrown out at first base for the out to be recorded. For example, a batter swings and misses for strike three but the ball gets past the catcher and rolls back to the backstop. For the out to be recorded, the catcher must retrieve the ball and throw to first base before the batter gets there. If the batter beats the throw to first base, he becomes a base runner and is not out. In this situation, the pitcher is credited with a strikeout. The official scorer will rule as to whether the pitcher will also be charged with a wild pitch or the catcher will be charged with a passed ball (the reason the batter reached base). So the pitcher strikes out the first batter but the ball gets by the catcher and the batter reaches first base. The pitcher then cleanly strikes out the next three batters. For the inning, the pitcher is credited with 4 strikeouts. The uncaught third strike rule does not apply when there is a runner on first base and there are less than two outs. This keeps the catcher from intentionally dropping a third strike which would allow for an easy double play ... catcher throws to second base for one out and the second baseman/shortstop throws to first for the second out. There is no uncaught third strike rule in Little League Baseball. The batter is automatically out on a third strike regardless of whether the catcher catches the ball or not.
The catcher has a really important job! the catcher and pitcher are the leaders of the team pretty much! the catcher protects home base almost. if someone is on 3rd and coming home . she has to catch the ball and tag the base and/or the person to make sure she doesnt get a run!.;]
All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "
You catch a lot with it.
No, that is not possible. That thought comes from the fact that, in certain situations, a batter can strikeout but get on base if the catcher does not catch the ball on strike three and cannot get the ball to the first baseman before the batter reaches first base. This is called the 'Dropped Third Strike Rule' and there is a link to its description on this page. There have been many occasions, I don't know the exact number, where a pitcher has struckout four batters in an inning. This can only occur when the catcher does not catch strike three on a strikeout and the batter reaches first base safely.
Walk, interference from the catcher when the batter was trying to swing at a pitch, by being hit by a pitch, or by swinging and missing at the third strike and the catcher doesn't catch the ball. The batter can then run towards first base but has to beat the throw to be able to be considered safe. - Error - Hit by Pitch - Walk - Dropped 3rd strike - Catcher interference - Fielders Choice
There is no "proper" way to catch in baseball. Of course you gotta kneel down behind the batter. Most catchers leave one finger out of the glove, and place their hand that's not catching behind their back to protect from foul balls.
The catcher, seriously.
you get a job as a ghost catcher
If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.
the job of a catcher in a baseball game is to catch the ball when the pitcher pitches the ball across the plate.