Best Answer

In 2002 the NFL realigned the league because of the addition of the Houston Texans. Prior to 2002, there were 31 teams in the NFL. With the addition of the Texans, there were now 32 teams. 16 teams in each conference, 4 teams per division, the NFL split up the league into the new order, trying to preserve as any regional and historical rivalries as possible.

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago


The most recent realignment of NFL divisions was before the 2002 season.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

1970, the first year of the AFL-NFL merger.

Prior to the merger and starting in 1967, there were six divisions in professional football ... 4 in the NFL and 2 in the AFL.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why did the NFL realign conferences and divisions in 2002?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

How is the NFL divided?

The NFL is divided into 2 conferences. The 2 conferences are each divided into 4 divisions. NFL AFC NFC North South East West North South East West

Did pro football have divisions or conferences in 1956?

The NFL, in 1956, had 2 conferences called the Eastern and Western. There were no divisions within the conferences. Teams in the Eastern Conference were the Browns, Cardinals, Eagles, Giants, Redskins, and Steelers. Teams in the Western Conference were the Bears, Colts, Lions, Packers, Rams, and 49ers.

What was the NFL like before the merge?

In the four years before the 1970 merger the NFL was composed of two conferences, Eastern and Western. The Eastern Conference was composed of the Capital and Century Divisions and the Western was composed of the Central and Coastal Divisions. The winners of the two Eastern divisions and Western divisions played against each other in the Conference Championship with the two winners playing the NFL Championship. Prior to 1966, there were simply the Esstern and Western Conferences, with the winners playing for the NFL Championship. Of note, the site for the Championship game rotated between Eastern and Western Conferences each year, so the team that had actually won more games could be playing on the road. Finally, the two second place teams in each conference played each other in the NFL Playoff Bowl in Miami.

When did the Buccaneers change to their current division?

The NFL realigned divisions in 2002 when the Houston Texans started play. The Buccaneers moved from the NFL Central to the NFL South.

What to know about the NFL?

National Hockey League is divided 2 conferences-American Football Conference (AFC)National Football Conference (NFC)Each conference has 4 divisions that have 4 teams each.Ref:

What is the American football conference?

The NFL is divided into two conferences, the National Football Conference and the American Football Conference. Each conference is divided into 4 divisions, the East, South, North and West. The origin of the conferences occured after the merger between the NFL and AFL. The AFL became the AFC and was given the Steelers, Colts and Browns to even things out.

What are some similarities between the NFL and the NBA?

they are both based on sports. you make millions if you play in one of those leagues. there are two conferences in both leagues and there are lots of divisions in both leagues

How many divisions are there in the NFL?

In 1960, the NFL had two conferences, the East and the West, and there were no divisions within either conference. The East conference had 6 teams and the West Conference had 7. In 1967, the NFL broke the two conferences into four divisions, the Capitol, Century, Coastal, and Central. Four teams were in each division. When the AFL-NFL merger occurred in 1970, each conference, American and National, had three divisions. Those were the East, Central, and West. Five teams were in each conference's East division and four were in both the Central and West. In 2002, with the addition of the Houston Texans as the 32nd NFL team, each conference was divided into four divisions from three. The new divisions were the East, North, West, and South. Four teams were in each division.

How many teams make the NFL conference?

There are 4 divisions in each conference. East, North, South, and West. Each has 4 teams. There are 2 conferences NFC and AFC for a total of 32 teams.

How many teams are ther in the NFL?

There are currently 32 teams in the NFL. They are divided into 8 divisions, 4 in the American Conference and 4 in the National Conference. The divisions in each conference are North, South, East, and West.

When did Tampa Bay change divisions?

The NFL realigned divisions in 2002. The Buccaneers went from the NFC Central to the NFC South. THe Buccaneers first seasson in 1976 was in the AFC West. After that season, they switched places with the Seattle Seahawks.

What was the conferences the patriots played at?

Since the AFL/NFL merger, the Patriots have always Played in the Amercian Football Conferences' East Division.