Why are there two teams from New York City?

Updated: 9/27/2023
User Avatar


Lvl 1
10y ago

Best Answer

The Buffalo Sabres serve WESTERN NEW YORK, NOT UPSTATE.

The New York Rangers serve Eastern Upstate and NYC.

The New York Islanders serve Long Island.

You can clearly see the Buffalo Sabres fan-base ends abruptly around Syracuse. Also, there are disproportionate sects of green and other colors that are due to college votes, which are a result of transplants from different areas. As the map gets filled in more, eventually you will be able to see the Rangers filling up most of Eastern NY state and the Sabres western. Even the Sabres advertisements are geared toward the "Western NY community."

People really need to get a grip on this. Albany is technically Upstate, but its more than twice the distance from Buffalo as NYC. Would you suggest its in a Buffalo market?

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

There are no NFL teams in New York City. The only team from New York are the Buffalo Bills. The other two "New York" teams, the Giants and Jets, actually play in New Jersey.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why are there two teams from New York City?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What eastern city is the only one with the two NFL teams?

New York

How man teams are from New York?

In Major League baseball, two, the New York Yankees and the New York Mets. New York also has two teams in the National Hockey League and one, the New York Knicks in the National Basketball Association. In the NFL there are two teams from New York, New York Giants and New York Jets.

How many professional baseball teams are in New York state?

There are currently 2 Major League Baseball (MLB) The New York Yankees and The New York Mets. There used to be 3 when the Brooklyn Dodgers used to be around in the 50's,they have moved to California though.

Which city in America doesnt have two major league baseball teams?

every city besides New York, Chicago, and Los Angeles

How many baseball teams are there in New York?

There are two major league baseball teams in New York. The New York Yankees are in the American League and the New York Mets are in the National League.

What is the baseball home team for New York?

New York City has two pro baseball teams in the Mets and the Yankees. You could travel from one stadium to the other on the subway.

What are two major New York cities?

The two major cities in New york are New York City because it is the largest city in new york and the main city also Albany is another major city and it is the major city because in is also the main city in New york like New york city.

What are the two major baseball teams in New York?

The New York Yankees and Mets.

Why does New York have two baseball teams?

Some major league cities are large enough to support two teams. The New York Yankees are in the American League, while the New York Mets are in the National League. Before 1958, New York had three teams -- the Yankees, the New York Giants and the Brooklyn Dodgers.

What is the destination city of New York?

There are actually two: New York City and Buffalo.

Which two states are closet to New York city?

The two states closest to New York City are New Jersey and Connecticut.

What is the name of the New York basketball team?

There are many basketball teams that call New York home. However, if you are talking professional basketball teams, then there are two men's teams-- The New York Knicks and the Brooklyn Nets. There is one women's professional team in New York-- the Liberty.