Best Answer

Tony Liberatore of Footscray won the Brownlow Medal in 1990. This was the first year of the national competition - the AFL - Australian Football League.

Edward Greeves of Geelong won the very first Brownlow ever awarded in the VFL - Victorian Football League: in those days, the competitions were run state by state, separately. The AFL is the national competition.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-10-27 11:28:56
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won the first Brownlow Medal in the AFL?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked