Best Answer

1897 - the VFL's very first season, did not include a Grand Final. Instead, a round robin series was played, with Essendon becoming the first VFL premiers and Geelong the runner-up.

The game did not become a 'national' competition until 1990. The Premiership in that first national season was won by the Collingwood Magpies.

It could be said, however, that technically, the winner of the 1st AFL premiership was the North Melbourne Under 19's side in 1990. The Under 19's Grand Final match was traditionally played as the first 'curtain raiser' to the seniors match on the same afternoon.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-07-24 07:03:00
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won the Premiership in the first AFL season?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked