Best Answer

Vishwanathan won this Chess title by beating Vladimir Kramnik.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-07-01 09:18:12
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Can you castle through check

What is the notation of kingside castling

What is step 1

See all cards
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won the Fide chess championship 2008 title?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who won the FIDE world chess Championship in 2010?

Viswanathan Anand

Do the FIDE conduct world chess championship every year?

No...FIDE conducts the World Chess Championship every two years. The World Chess Championship has been undisputed since 2006; the complications of unifying the previously fractured world championship led to World Chess Championship events in 2007, 2008, and 2010. Now that those complications have been resolved, the World Chess Championship will be held every two years. The next match will be in 2012...the challenger for the World Champion (Viswanathan Anand) will be decided at the Candidates Tournament to be held in May 2011. The winner of the 2012 World Championship will defend his title in 2014.

How many times has vishwanath an and won the fide world chess title?

five times

What does FM in chess mean?

FM is an abbreviation for "FIDE Master". To achieve this title you must attain and maintain at least 2,300 FIDE rating.

Who was the world champion of chess in 1993 -99?

That was a time during which the world championship was disputed between the Professional Chess Association whose champion was Kasparov and FIDE whose champion was Karpov after Kasparov split from FIDE.

Indian player who won chess world championship in 2002?

The last Indian Player to win the FIDE World Championship was Viswanathan Anand in 2000.

How does a person achieve the title of Chess Master?

The title of Chess master is awarded to a player who has achieved a published FIDE rating of at least 2200 . This requires entering into a number of tournaments and successfully working your way up from title to title .

When was Permanent Commission of the FIDE for Chess Compositions created?

Permanent Commission of the FIDE for Chess Compositions was created in 1956.

How many world grandmaster?

The title Grandmasteris awarded to strong chess players by the world chess organization FIDE. Apart from World Champion, Grandmaster is the highest title a chess player can attain. Once achieved, the title is held for life. In chess literature it is usually abbreviated to GM(similarly, FMstands for FIDE Master and IMfor International Master). The abbreviation IGMfor International Grandmaster can also sometimes be found, particularly in older literature.There are 1174 grandmasters of chess.

Who is the youngest world chess champion?

The youngest world chess champion is Garry Kasparov, who won the FIDE world championship in 1985 at the age of 22. The record still stands today.

Champion chess player of the early 20th cenury?

The official world championship is generally regarded to have begun in 1886, when the two leading players in Europe, Wilhelm Steinitz and Johann Zukertort, played a match. From 1886 to 1946, the champion set the terms, requiring any challenger to raise a sizable stake and defeat the champion in a match in order to become the new world champion. From 1948 to 1993, the championship was administered by FIDE, the world chess federation. In 1993, the reigning champion (Garry Kasparov) broke away from FIDE, leading to the creation of two rival championships. This situation remained until 2006, when the title was unified at the World Chess Championship 2006. The current world champion is Viswanathan Anand, who won the World Chess Championship 2007 and successfully defended his title against former world champion Vladimir Kramnik in the World Chess Championship 2008, and again against the challenger Veselin Topalov in the World Chess Championship 2010. He will defend his title against challenger Boris Gelfand in the World Chess Championship 2012. In addition, there is a separate event for women only, for the title of Women's World Champion, as well as separate competitions and titles for juniors (under 20 years of age), seniors (60+ for men, 50+ for women), and computers. Computers are barred from competing for the open title.

Where can you buy The FIDE official chess set by the Franklin Mint?

Please email me if you wish to purchase a great condition FIDE official Chess Setk9jlv.autistic@gmail.comThanksJamie

People also asked