Best Answer

Chris Evert (Evert-Lloyd as she was known at the time) was named the WTA's player of the year in 1981, a year she won Wimbledon and remained the year-end world number one.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

Monica Seles

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Martina Navratilova

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who won WTA Player of the Year Award in 1989?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who won WTA Player of the Year Award in 1977?

Virginia Wade

Who won WTA Player of the Year Award in 1982?

Jimmy Connors

Who won WTA Player of the Year Award in 1987?

The winner of Wimbledon in 1985 was Boris Becker. The women's winner was Martina Navratilova.

When did WTA New Jersey end?

WTA New Jersey ended in 1989.

Who is the highest ranked player in the WTA?

Women are not ranked by the ATP, but by the WTA (Women's Tennis Association). The current number one in singles is Victoria Azarenka, and in doubles it is Cara Black.

What awards has Caroline Wozniacki won in Tennis?

Caroline Wozniacki has won a number of awards in Tennis. She has won 20 WTA singles titles. Also in 2008 she won the WTA Tour Most Impressive Newcomer of the Year. She won the ITF Player of the Year in 2010.

Who is the highest paid WTA player?

Lleyton Hewitt

Who is the blonde tennis player who is the no 1 player for 2011?

The WTA world number 1 is currently Caroline Wozniacki.

When did WTA Austrian Open end?

WTA Austrian Open ended in 2004.

When did WTA Tour Tennis happen?

WTA Tour Tennis happened in 2001.

When was WTA South Carolina created?

WTA South Carolina was created in 1985.

When was WTA Tour Championships created?

WTA Tour Championships was created in 1972.