answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-07-12 20:06:32
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was the only baseball pitcher to give up a home run to his first major league batter and hit a home run in his first major league game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When is a pitcher in a baseball game the pitcher of record to begin an inning Is it during his warm up tosses Or is it the first pitch to the first batter?

it is always the first pitch


When does a Major League Baseball game start?

When a) the first batter takes his place in the batter's box, b) the defensive team takes their positions on the field, c) the pitcher takes his place on the mound, and d) the umpire calls "Play Ball."


What would get you a walk in baseball?

If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.


What pitcher won the first playoff game in baseball's American League?

The answer is "Gene Bearden."


When bebe ruth first began major league baseball what position did he play?

Pitcher


Can a walked batter round first base and move on to second while the pitcher is in the circle in little league softball?

Yes


Can a relief pitcher in major league baseball come in and throw just one pitch or does he have to pitch completely to one batter?

A pitcher who enters the game must pitch at least one full at bat. The only exception to this is if the pitcher suffers an injury during warmups or while pitching to the first batter that the umpires deem serious enough to warrant medical attention. Then the pitcher may be replaced before pitching one full at bat.


A right handed batter takes his first pitch for a ball He then switches and becomes a left handed batter for the next pitch a strike He then changes back to a right handed batter Is this legal?

Yes, it's legal in Major League Baseball provided the pitcher isn't in the middle of a pitch otherwise it's illegal.


First Japanese pitcher in major league baseball history?

The first Japanese pitcher in MLB history was Masanori Murkami who played from 1964 to 1965 for the San Francisco Giants


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


What pitcher was the best batter?

Jack Bentley, PITCHER and first baseman of the Baltimore Orioles in 1921, carried off most of the batting honors of his league during the 1921 campaign. Batting 412.


How can a batter be called out if the pitcher does nothing?

I'm not a baseball expert, but I seem to recall a rule against crossing in front of the catcher from one side of the plate to the other when the pitcher is on the mound without first calling time out. Maybe there are some baseball experts out there who can elaborate further. Yes. This is true. If the batter crosses from one side to the other while the pitcher is set to pitch, the batter is declared out. Another way an out can be recorded without the aid of a pitcher is if the batter does anything against the rules like corking the bat.


Who was the first African American to pitch in the major league?

In 1947, Dan Bankhead became the first African American pitcher in Major League Baseball under the Brooklyn Dodgers.


What is Greg Maddux known for?

Greg Maddux was a Major League Baseball pitcher. He was the first major league pitcher to win the Cy Young Award four years in a row. He was nicknamed "Mad Dog" and "The Professor".


When baseball first started how many balls did it take to walk a batter?

At the beginning of the National League in 1876, nine balls were needed to walk a batter.


First batter to hit a home run against every Major League Baseball Team?

Sosa


Who is the first black pitcher in major league baseball?

Dan Bankhead of the Brooklyn Dodgers on August 26, 1947.


Can a pitcher be taken out while batter has a count?

Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.


In base ballcan you bring in a relief pitcher in the middle of a count?

Yes, you can. The only exception is for the first batter of the game and for the first batter to be faced by a reliever. According to Rule 3.05(a), the starting pitcher shall pitch to the first batter or any substitute batter until such batter is put out or reaches first base, unless the pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the judgment of the umpire-in-chief, incapacitates him from pitching. And according to Rule 3.05(b), if the pitcher is replaced, the substitute pitcher shall pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute batter, until such batter is put out or reaches first base, or until the offensive team is put out, unless the substitute pitcher sustains injury or illness which, in the umpire-in-chief's judgment, incapacitates him for further play as a pitcher.


What ball sport has 'walk' in the terminology?

Baseball. A "walk" occurs when, in the umpire's judgement, the pitcher misses the "strike zone" with four throws to a single batter. The batter is then awarded first base.


What is greg known for?

Greg Maddux was a Major League Baseball pitcher. He was the first major league pitcher to win the Cy Young Award four years in a row. He was nicknamed "Mad Dog" and "The Professor".


What happens when the pitch is ball four and bounces out of play?

According to Major League Baseball Rule 7.05(h), the batter is awarded first base, and all runners are awarded one base from the base they occupied at the time the pitcher began his delivery; the ball is dead.


If the pitcher delivers a ball that hits the batter's uniform but not the player himself is the batter still awarded first base?

Yes, a Pitcher pitching a baseball in a Major League Baseball game and if the pitched ball ends up hitting any part of the batter who is at the plate regardless of whether it's his uniform, his shoes, his battling gloves or even his helmet it would be ruled as the ball hitting him and therefore it would be credited as a Hit by Pitch and the umpire would award you first base automatically.


Which Early 1900s baseball player had the first name of Grover?

Hall of famer Grover Cleveland Alexander, a pitcher, played Major League baseball from 1911 - 1930


What happens when a batter has thrown four balls?

If you mean pitcher, then the batter walks to first base.