Best Answer

Red Byron won the Nascar 'Strictly Stock' championship in 1949.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2012-05-10 04:09:30
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who was the first person to win the Nascar Cup Series championship?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Was the Winston Cup Series the first Nascar championship for Jeff Gordon?

Yes, it was. The 1995 Winston Cup Series championship was the first for Jeff Gordon in Nascar.

Who won the Nascar Cup Series championship in 2009?

Jimmie Johnson won the 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Championship, the first driver to win 4 consecutive NASCAR titles.

What was the first NASCAR trophy?

The first Nascar trophy was awarded to Red Byron. He won the 1949 Nascar Strictly Stock Series championship.

When did Jeff Gordon win his first championship?

Jeff Gordon won his first NASCAR Cup Series championship in 1995.

How old was Kyle Busch when he won the Nascar Cup Series championship?

Kyle Busch has no championships on his record YET. He was 21 when he won his first NASCAR race. Kyle Busch won the Nascar Nationwide Series championship in 2009.

Who won the first NASCAR championship?

It was Red Byron in 1949. It was known as the 'Strictly Stock Series".

Who finished first in the 2011 Nascar Sprint Cup Series championship?

In 2011, Tony Stewart won the Nascar Sprint Cup Series championship. He and Carl Edwards ended the season tied in points, but Stewart had more wins.

When did Dale Earnhardt Sr. win his first Nascar championship?

In 1980, driving in the Winston Cup Series.

Who won the NASCAR championship in 1948?

There was no champion in 1948. The first Nascar championship was awarded in 1949.

Who was the first driver to win the Winston Cup in Nascar?

In 1971, Richard Petty won the first Nascar championship award named the "Winston Cup". Prior to this, the series was known as the Strictly Stock Series (1949) and then the Grand National Series (1950-1970).

Who was NASCAR's first three-time champion?

Lee Petty was the first driver to win the Nascar championship three times. He won the 1954, 1958 and 1959 Grand National Series titles.

Who was the first winner in NASCAR?

Jim Roper won the first NASCAR Scrictly Stock Race- which has evolved into the Sprint Cup Series (formally known as Winston Cup), on June 19, 1949 at Charlotte Fairgrounds Speedway. Red Byron won the first NASCAR championship.

People also asked