Best Answer

Ted Lilly April 27, 2002 against Seattle Mariners

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-13 15:00:32
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Who is the only Yankee pitcher to throw a one hit game and lose?
Write your answer...
Related questions

How can you pitch a no hitter and lose?

A pitcher can pitch a no-hitter, meaning the opposing team has no hits in the entire game while the pitcher throws a complete game, and still lose by way of walks, errors, and other means of unearned runs.

Who was the last pitcher to throw a no hitter and lose the game?

The last 9 inning no hitter that was a loss was on April 30, 1967 between the Baltimore Orioles and the Detroit Tigers. Steve Barber and Stu Miller of the Orioles combined for a no hitter but the Orioles lost 2-1. The only single pitcher to lose a complete game no hitter was Ken Johnson of the Houston Colt 45's in 1964. He no hit the Cincinnati Reds but lost 1-0.

What baseball player was the first pitcher to throw a no hitter for more than eleven innings and lose the game?

Pittsburgh Pirate pitcher Harvey Haddix received allot of consolation after throwing twelve perfect innings and losing the game to Milwaukee 1-0. I saw a similar question in "Is this one of your questions" however the one here better "fits" and tells more of a story.

Which pitcher gets the loss?

The pitcher that let the runner that gave the winning team the lead they wouldn't lose for the rest of the game reach base.

Who was the pitcher to lose game 8 in the 1919 world series?

Claude (Lefty) Williams of the White Sox.

Who is the youngest pitcher to win a major league baseball game?

On ESPN's major league telecast on August 15, 2007, Bob Feller was being interviewed, regarding the death of Hall of Famer Phil Rizutto, and he stated that he, Bob Feller, was the youngest pitcher ever to win a game, and the youngest pitcher to lose a game, at age 17.

When does a pitcher get charged for the win?

yes, if he is the starting pitcher he has to go a minimum of 5 innings and his team has to be leading when he exits the game and never lose their lead and win the game. A pitcher can win in relief if he comes in when the game is tied or his team is losing, and his team rallies after he pitches and win the game, but they can't give up their lead after he pitches or he won't get the win someone else will get the win

If the pitcher switches to ss and back to pitcher after one batter does the team lose the DH permanantly or since the pitcher started and finished the inning at pitcher do they keep the DH?

MLB rule 6.10(b) states, in part: ...Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a defensive position this move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for the remainder of the game... So, in response to the question, the team loses the DH permanently (for the rest of that game).

Who is charged with the loss if the team loses in the 9 th inning?

Which ever pitcher is responsible for the runner who scores to lose the game. Say pitcher A gives up a double, and is then replaced by Pitcher B. If pitcher B gives up another double, and the runner on second scores, Pitcher A gets the loss, because he put the scoring runner on base.

If a pitcher is losing a game in the 4th inning 4-5 and the team never ties the game but ends up losing the game 6-7 who gets the lose the starter or relief pitcher?

The loss is charged to the pitcher who is charged with the go-ahead run whether it is earned or not. The go-ahead run is the tie breaking run which puts the winning team ahead and the other team never catches up for the rest of the game. Peter Gaposchkin

What do you do if you throw out your arm in fast pitch softball?

just throw it as hard as you can! if you lose, don't blame me! :)

How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated. As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.

Why does everyone who reads this lose the game?

Because by think about the game means you lose the game..!

How many calories do you lose if you throw up?


Can a pitcher have a complete game and lose?

Sure, used to happen all the time, when starters usually completed their games. Now it's far less common. Though a losing pitcher when his team is on the road has the advantage of only having to pitch 8 innings to get a complete game when his team is loses without having to play the bottom of the ninth.

What if you eat and throw up will you lose weight?

yes it does. when doesnt it? but it is insanely bad for you. you can lose teeth doing that

How can the word ''lose'' be used in a sentence?

(Present Perfect) They lose the game. (Future Perfect) They will lose the game.

Has any baseball player pitched a perfect game and lost?

Under the current rules, it's impossible. A pitcher doesn't get credit for a perfect game unless he pitches the entire game and allows no baserunners. There have been a few cases where a pitcher went 9 perfect innings then lost the game in extra innings. It used to be the case where if a pitcher pitched nine perfect innings, he would get credit for a perfect game even if he allowed baserunners in extra innings. However, these games are no longer officially credited as perfect games. On May 26, 1959, Pittsburgh Pirate Harvey Haddix pitched 12 perfect innings but gave up an error in the 13th. The Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Braves 3-0. On June 3, 1995, Montreal Expo Pedro Martinez pitched 9 perfect innings but gave up a hit in the 10th. The Expos beat the San Diego Padres 1-0. It is possible to throw a no-hitter but still lose the game. New York Yankee Andy Hawkins and Boston Red Sox Matt Young both lost games in the early 90's without giving up a hit. The runs came as a result of errors by other team members.

Do batteries lose energy?

Yes, batteries lose energy. If you leave something on that has a battery in it, then the battery will lose it's energy and you must throw it away.

If you are anorexic and throw up how much weight do you lose monthly?

You will lose a lot of weight..when you die and your body is corroded

What is the MLB record for most consecutive shutout innings pitched by one pitcher in one game?

21 by Joe Oeschger of the Boston Braves against the Brooklyn Robins (now Dodgers) on May 1, 1920. The game went 26 innings and ended in a 1-1 tie due to darkness. Oeschger pitched a complete game, allowing the Robins one run in the fifth inning. The Robins pitcher, Leon Cadore, also pitched a complete game and allowed Boston's run in the sixth inning giving him 20 consecutive scoreless innings. The only other pitcher to throw 20 consecutive scoreless innings in one game was Joe Harris of the Boston Americans (now Red Sox) against the Philadelphia Athletics on September 1, 1906. Harris gave up a single run in the 3rd inning and then went until to the 24th inning before giving up 3 more to lose the game 4-1.

Should you use your xbox with a fractured collarbone?

As long as you don't throw a violent tantrum when you get killed on call of duty XD Seriously. Don't play a game that gets you worked up when you lose.

How do you assign Pitcher win or loss 6 inning little league game?

The pitcher win/loss count is the same as it is in the majors. If his team is winning when he is replaced, then he leaves with a W, but if any of the other pitchers on his team let the opponents tie the game or more, he no longer has a W, but cannot lose the game. He will just get a no-decision. If his team is already losing when he gets pulled from the game, he leaves with an L, but if his team ends up winning the game, he no longer has an L, but does not get credit for winning the game. He will get a no-decision.

Do you have any information on the 1947 World Series game between the Brooklyn Dodgers and the New York Yankees?

You didn't mention which game but in game 4 of the 1947 World Series, Yankee pitcher Bill Bevens had a no hitter going with two out in the bottom of the ninth inning when he gave up a double to Cookie Lavagetto with two men on base to lose the game 3-2. Bevens walked 10 batters in the game, and after the series, never pitched in another MLB game! Another memorable moment occurred in game 6 when Al Gionfriddo caught Joe DiMaggio's bid for a game breaking 3 run homer and helped send the series to a game 7. Pictures captured DiMaggio kicking dirt near second base, perhaps his only show of frustration ever recorded.

Does drinking vinegar help lose weight?

vinegar helps to lose weight if u drink enough to throw up