Cal Ripken jr.
That is a record that will never be known. Pitch counts in baseball have only been important in the last 25-30 years. Before the mid 70s or so pitch counts were not a statistic that teams kept.
it is always the first pitch
For a pitcher to be credited with a start they only have to throw the first pitch of the game.
Zara Mee broke the record in 2006 with an 111 mph softball pitch.
Yes. Record held by many.
The pitcher must be on the "rubber" when making a pitch.
A good pitcher pitches well.
Pitch count has nothing to do with eligibility to be the winning pitcher. In a scheduled 9-inning game, the starting pitcher must pitch 5 complete innings to be eligible to be the winning pitcher. Relief pitchers must be the pitcher of record when the winning team takes the lead, and never relinquishes the lead, to be the winning pitcher.
Th oldest player to play for the Yankees was Phil Niekro at age 46 Niekro became the oldest pitcher to pitch a shutout in the major leagues, and became the only pitcher to throw a complete game shutout for his 300th win. [This from a Puerto Rico Yankee fan]
it depends on who the pitcher is, what type of pitch and how much movement the pitch has
The pitch goes towards the pitcher's strike count.
A pitcher usually tries to throw a pitch where the hitter can't hit it .
In MLB, there is no rule about the number of consecutive innings a pitcher can pitch.
Yes, the pitcher has to be in contact with the rubber or if not the pitch will be illegal
38 by Oakland Athletics' pitcher Bartolo Colon on April 18th, 2012 against the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. The feat started on the second pitch of the fifth inning, and lasted until the seventh pitch of the eighth inning.
Yes. Even though the pitcher did not throw a pitch he was the pitcher of record when the winning runs scored. So he would get credit for the win. Let's say this happened in the 6th inning: A pitcher comes in with the bases loaded, two out, and his team is trailing 6-4. He picks the runner off of first base before he throws a pitch. In the bottom of the 6th the pitcher is pinch hit for and his team scores 4 runs to put his team ahead 8-6. The game ends with a score of 8-7. The pitcher would be credited with the win in this case because, as before, he was the pitcher of record when the go-ahead runs scored. I cannot recall this ever happening but, by rule, a pitcher can be credited with a win without throwing a single pitch.
Yes, if the batter was retired with that 1 pitch or got on base or was hit by the pitch. In other words if that batter is no longer up or if this was not the 1st batter the pitcher has faced and the pitcher threw a strike or a ball then the manager could take him out or if the pitcher suffered an injury with that one pitch. If the pitcher comes into a game and throws only one pitch and the batter is still up and there is no injury to the pitcher, then the pitcher must pitch to the batter till he is retired or reaches base on a hit, walk, error, fielders choice, etc.
The single season HBP record is held by Hughie Jennings of the Baltimore Orioles who was hit 51 times in the 1896 season.