Best Answer

The first Rugby Union World Cup was held in 1987 and won by New Zealand.

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which country won the 1ST Rugby Union world cup in the 1970's?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Which country hosted the 2007 rugby union world cup?

France hosted the 2007 Rugby Union World Cup which was won by South Africa with England as the runners up

Was rugby union or rugby league invented first?

Rugby union was :) the rugby union club i captain is the oldest rugby club in the world

What rugby union team is the dirtiest in the world?

The dertiest rugby union in the world is the French

What country were 1924 world rugby union champions?

The RWC did not start until 1987

What is the rugby union national team name?

For which country? you could be asking this question anywhere in the world.

Who is more popular rugby union?

rugby union is the world cup, the six nations, the european nations cup... rugby union is what people know as rugby. all other forms of rugby are not as popular.

Which country has won the rugby union sevens World Series more than any other?

New Zealand

Does Ireland play rugby union?

Yes. Ireland is one of the world's leading rugby union nations.

Where can one learn about the rugby world?

"One can learn about the Rugby World by attending the Rugby World Cup. The Rugby World Cup is the international rugby union competition, where the teams are competing to win the William Webb Ellis Cup."

How did rugby union and rugby league come to be?

Rugby came to be when William Webb Ellis picked up a soccer ball and ran with it at an England School (at Rugby school in Rugby, warwickshire, hence the name) therefore the rugby union world cup named after the founder William webb Ellis. Rugby league was formed from rugby union

What sports does Samoa play?

they play rugby union in the world cup and sevens rugby unions

When Did Fiji win the rugby World Cup?

They have never won the world cup for rugby union however with the exception of the rugby sevens, they have held this title before.