Best Answer

There were 202 countries competing in Athens: Afghanistan (suspended in 2000) Albania Algeria American Samoa Andorra Angola Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil British Virgin Islands Brunei Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Colombia Comoros Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Fiji Finland France Gabon Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Grenada Guam Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Honduras Hong Kong Hungary Iceland India Indonesia International Olympic Athlete (East Timor in 2000) Iran Iraq Ireland Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati (NOC recognized in 2003) Korea, North (DPR of Korea) Korea, South Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macedonia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Mauritania Mauritius Mexico Micronesia, Federated States of Moldova Monaco Mongolia Morocco Mozambique Myanmar (Burma) Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands Netherlands Antilles New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Northern Mariana Islands Norway Oman Pakistan Palau Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Puerto Rico Qatar Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia and Montenegro (Yugoslavia) Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syria Taiwan (Chinese Taipei) Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand The Bahamas The Gambia Timor-Leste (participated under IOA in 2000) Togo Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom (Great Britain) United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela Vietnam Virgin Islands Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe More input: * Puerto Rico and Guam are not countries. Both are territories of the United States of America. Puerto Rico and Guam are NOT COUNTRIES - they are part of the United States. Therefore, they should not be included in the list of participating countries * 202 Countries Participating. Puerto Rico and Guam are territories of the United States but are listed as countries participating in the Athens 2004 Olympics. When you are watching the Olympics you will see PUR and GUM with their flag next to it. They also have an Olympic Committee. * I notice that both Gambia and the Bahamas are not included in the list. They both have webpages talking about their respective olympic teams. * Here's a list, in the order they entered in the Parade of Nations: The Greek alphabet can be seen here: So, for example, Saint Lucia becomes, roughly, Agia Loikia; San Marino becomes Agios Marinos; Cape Verde is Prasino Akrotirio; France is Gallia; and so on. * The UN has 191 full members. The US recognizes those 191 plus Vatican City as nations. Only the Vatican and two others, both in the Pacific, Tuvalu and the Marshall Islands, did not send teams. (By population, Vatican is the world's smallest nation, Tuvalu second, and Marshall Is. ninth.) That makes 189 nations at Athens. You may be wondering about the difference between 189 and the "202 participating countries" at Athens. Athens also had Taiwan ("Chinese Taipei"), Palestine, and 11 dependencies/territories take part: Bermuda, Cayman Is., & British Virgin Is. (all British), Guam, Virgin Is., Puerto Rico, & American Samoa (all US), Aruba & Netherlands Antilles (Dutch), Cook Is. (NZ), and Hong Kong (Chinese) * What about the Northern Mariana Islands? Again they are not an independent country but like Guam and Puerto Rico they competed independently with their own flag Puerto Rico is an independent country (free associated state to the USA, but independent) Puerto Rico is not a "territory" of the USA (so far). American Samoa is an USA protectorate (The USA take care after it but it is not part of the USA. Therefore, it is somehow "independent" since it is not a "territory" of the USA.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-25 20:11:36
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


20 cards

What does the word Olympic mean

What country first proposed the winter olympic games as separate from the traditional olympic games

How did the athletes prepare for the ancient olympic games

What other events were included in the ancient olympic games after the first ancient olympic games

See all cards
7 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which countries competed in the 2004 Olympics?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked

Where and when is soccer played?

View results

St Moritz to Paris by train?

View results

Who covers second base when the ball is hit to the third baseman?

View results

Who was the last Detroit Tiger who wore number 42?

View results

Can runners advance on a ball thrown out of play?

View results

In baseball how does a pitcher qualify for an ERA or Wins title?

View results