Best Answer

Fielding H. Yost and Bear Bryant have 6 National Championships each:

Fielding H. Yost: 6 National Championships with Michigan: 1901, 1902, 1903, 1904, 1918, 1923.

Bear Bryant: 6 National Championships at Alabama: 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979.

All of Yost's national championships were before the AP era. And they were all awarded retroactively, by voters that never actually saw any of the games in those years. In order to get to 6, you have to count every minor poll that has ever existed. Most people have never even heard of the organizations that awarded Michigan those national championships. The organizations who (retroactively) awarded national championships to Michigan and Yost in those years were: the Billingsley Report, the Houlgate System, the National Championship Foundation, the Helms Athletic Foundation, and Parke H. Davis

Also, if you're going to count every time any organization awarded a national championship, Bryant has more than 6.

1950 (he coached Kentucky that year) Only the Sagarin system chose Kentucky, and it was retroactive.

1961 (14 polls, including the AP and UPI, the two most respected of that time)

1964 (4 polls, including AP and UPI)

1965 (4, including AP and FWAA)

1966 (2, Sagarin and Berrryman

1973 (2, including UPI)

1975 (Matthews Grid Ratings)

1977 (just the CFRA, and retroactive)

1978 (7, including AP, NWAA, and NFF)

1979 (17, all of the polls that were active at that time except the CFRA)

That's a total of ten (10) national championships for the Bear, if you count every poll, system, or computer, including the retroactive ones. To get to 6, you have to limit Bryant's championships to only those awarded by major polls (AP, UPI). But if you do that, Yost has none.

The first author *is* correct The "Helms Athletic Foundations" retroactive poll results are officially recognized by the N.C.A.A. for the years 1883-1935 as are the Dickerson System from 1924 to 1940. And while an excellent argument can be made that Bryant's 1950 Kentucky team *should* have been crowned as "National Champions", the rule of that time was that the final polling was taken before bowl games which while ethically incorrect, it was the rule at the time. And we all know that even with the addition of the AP poll in 1936, several of the "official" polls have given the Championship to the wrong team.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2016-10-08 08:19:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which college football coach has won the most National Championships?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked