Yes they can no matter the pitch count.
Catcher Wally Schang of the Philadelphia Athletics in 1916.
Switching Sides of PlateYou are not allowed to switch sides of the plate once the first pitch of the at bat has been delivered
For various reasons, batters hit better when they are on the side of the plate opposite from the side the pitcher is throwing from. A batter who can hit equally well from both sides of the plate thus eliminates any advantage a pitcher throwing from the same side would have. Thus, Mantle was raised to be a switch hitter by his family.
noWrong!! The batter may switch sides of the plate as long as the pitcher is not on the rubber prepared to pitch. He could switch several times during the at-bat.
A batter may change sides of the plate at any time during an at-bat as long as the pitcher is not in the set position -- that is to say, on the rubber. (See rule 6.06b)
Yes you can change sides at any time during your at bat.
Baseball teams switch sides every 3 outs. 3 outs are referred to as a half-inning. A full inning consists of each team getting its turn of 3 outs.
Mark Bellhorn of the Chicago Cubs in the fourth inning of a game on August 29, 2002 and Carlos Baerga of the Cleveland Indians in the seventh inning of a game on April 8, 1993 are the only two players that have hit home runs from both sides of the plate in the same inning.
A batter can change sides of the plate as many times as they choose. Just like a manager can change pitchers as many times as they choose.No a batter cannot change sides, unless the opposing team brings in a new pitcher that throws with the other hand.Although managers may make unlimited batter substitutions, the same does not apply to pitchers. Unless he is injured, once a pitcher is brought into a game, he must face at least one batter before he can be taken out. The hitter can switch sides if there is a pitching change, but he can only do it once.Where is the rule in MLB that states a batter cannot switch sides multiple times when batting? I have seen this answer countless times and no one specifies a rule.UPDATED INFORMATION:There is no official rule governing this issue. All the rule books state is that a batter cannot switch sides at the plate when the pitcher is set to deliver a pitch. This means that he/she may switch as often as he/she would like as long as the pitcher is not in his/her motion. There is nothing stating the number of times that he/she may switch sides at a single at bat. That is only a myth.
Carlos Baerga from both sides of the plate
yes there was a switch pitcher and his name was pat venditte on the new york yankees and you could switch the way your batting even if your not a switch hitter cause many people say it would not be fair that the pitcher can switch hands and most of the batters aren't switch hitters so they can only switch sides three times and then they had to stay where they are even if they're aren't a switch hitter
This actually happened not long ago in a semi-pro game. The pitcher switched hands, so the batter switched sides of the plate. Then the pitcher switched back, as did the batter. This literally went on for a minute or so, before the umpire finally stepped in and made them play ball. It was humorous to watch.
Willy Aybar of the Tampa Bay Rays is the most recent batter to hit home runs from both sides of the plate, at home to the Kansas City Royals on August 3rd. There have been nine instances of switch hitters hitting home runs from both sides of the plate in the 2009 season. Nick Swisher and Mark Texeira, both of the New York Yankees, have done it twice. Tony Clark and Felipe Lopez, of the Arizona Diamondbacks, achieved home runs from both sides of the plate in the same game, at home to the Colorado Rockies on April 6th. The other two batters to accomplish the feat are Melky Cabrera (also of the Yankees) and Orlando Hudson (Los Angeles Dodgers).
Mantle was a switch-hitter who was equally powerful from both sides of the plate. As a result, he's the only player in history to establish true tape measure standards in all directions. There were no American League stadiums where Mantle played where he did not hit a home run of at least 450 feet to both the left and right sides of the field.
A baseball plate has five sides.
When pressure is put on the sides of a plate, a earthquake might form!
as far as I know you could. In our leagues, you are allowed to switch sides of the plate as long as you dont walk right in front of the catcher while the pitcher is ready to pitch. Essentially you have to call for time. I love switching it up, keeps the fielders on their toes.... The best is when you switch sides, but hit op field :D
No. They switch sides after the half
Yes, the players switch sides in tennis. Every odd game total is when players switch sides. For example, after the first game, players switch sides. This goes for after the third game, and so forth.
Yes, the player may surely switch sides; he may do so as long as the pitcher is not in the "ready position" (see rule 6.06),and, shall be called out if the batter attempts to switch sides during the pitcher's windup.(Incidentally, there has always been a popular myth in the baseball culture that a batter can only switch sides before there are two strikes. This is just a false statement). Read your baseball rulebook! Yes, he can. It usually happens when the opposing team changes pitchers. Generally, left-handed hitters hit better against right-handed pitchers (and vice versa), so if a switch hitter is batting left-handed against a right-handed pitcher, and the other team changes to a lefty in the middle of the at-bat, the switch hitter will usually move to the right side of the plate to counter this. There is no rule in the MLB rule book that states how many times a batter can switch sides during an at bat. However, once the pitcher steps on the rubber, whatever side the batter is on is the side he must bat from for that pitch. Per above, there is no rule in the rulebook that states that he cannot change from one batter's box to the other in the middle of an at-bat. The only rule about switching boxes is 6.06b which says that he cannot switch boxes if the pitcher is in the ready position. Otherwise, no problem. yeah they can i have done it before addendum - PBUC 'Pat Venditte rule' Pitcher must indicate which arm he will use to throw the next pitch and then the batter must take either box. I am not sure what rule number in the PBUC that this falls under. If anyone has it please add it for me.
Yes, in the second half the teams switch sides.
When pressure is put on the sides of a plate, an earthquake might form!