Best Answer
User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-07-09 22:17:04
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide
More answers
User Avatar


Lvl 1
โˆ™ 2020-10-13 01:16:02

Also the Seahawks and Buccaneers in 1977.

User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Which NFL teams switched conferences
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why do nfl teams play some teams twice?

The NFL has broken their 32 teams into two 16 team conferences, and each of the conferences into four 4 team divisions. Each team in a division plays the other three teams in the division twice. This is to promote a sense of rivalry between the teams in a division.

What is the number of teams in NFL?

There are 32 football teams in the NFL. They are divided up into two 16-team conferences, the NFC (National Football Conference), and the AFC (American Football Conference.)

What is the diffence between the NFC and AFC?

The National Conference of the NFL (NFC) is made up of teams from the original National Football League, going back to 1922. Therefore (including the 3 teams that switched conferences, see below) the oldest teams in pro football are all in the NFC. The American Conference (AFC) is made up of teams from the original American Football League, an "upstart" football league created in 1960 to challenge the old NFL. In 1967, the leagues merged, but because the NFL had 16 teams at the time, and the AFL only 10, 3 teams from the NFL moved to the AFC to make the conferences balance at 13-13. They were the Pittsburgh Steelers, Cleveland Browns, and Baltimore (now Indianapolis) Colts. Since then, new expansion teams have been arbitrarily added to both conferences that have no history or connection with either league, and the Seattle Seahawks transferred to the NFC from the AFC to again rebalance the two conferences. There are now 32 teams in the league, 16 in each conference.

Did pro football have divisions or conferences in 1956?

The NFL, in 1956, had 2 conferences called the Eastern and Western. There were no divisions within the conferences. Teams in the Eastern Conference were the Browns, Cardinals, Eagles, Giants, Redskins, and Steelers. Teams in the Western Conference were the Bears, Colts, Lions, Packers, Rams, and 49ers.

How many times do NFL teams play each other in a regular season?

There are sixteen games in the NFL season. Teams face their divisional opponents twice during the regular season. The other eight weeks of the season, teams will play teams in other divisions and conferences.

When did the Baltimore Colts join the AFC?

1970. When the AFL-NFL merger took place in 1970, there were 16 teams in the NFL and 10 teams in the AFL. To make the number of teams even in the newly created conferences, three teams from the old NFL (new NFC) moved over to play in the AFC. These teams were the Colts, Cleveland Browns, and Pittsburgh Steelers.

How many teams make the NFL conference?

There are 4 divisions in each conference. East, North, South, and West. Each has 4 teams. There are 2 conferences NFC and AFC for a total of 32 teams.

Why did the NFL realign conferences and divisions in 2002?

In 2002 the NFL realigned the league because of the addition of the Houston Texans. Prior to 2002, there were 31 teams in the NFL. With the addition of the Texans, there were now 32 teams. 16 teams in each conference, 4 teams per division, the NFL split up the league into the new order, trying to preserve as any regional and historical rivalries as possible.

How many different divisions are there in the NFL?

The 32 teams of the NFL are divided evenly into two conferences, AFC and NFC, and each conference is made up of four divisions, North, East, West and South. Therefore, the NFL is divided into a total of eight divisions, each containing four teams.

What are the NFL conferences?

The American Football Conference and the National Football Conference. They were created in 1970, when the NFL merged with the rival American Football League. Thirteen of the 16 teams from the pre-merger NFL established the NFC, while the Steelers, Colts, and Browns left the old NFL to join the 10 AFL teams to establish the AFC.

How do they determine what team is AFC and what team is NFC?

In 1970 the AFL and NFL merged. Two conferences were created: The AFC and the NFC. All of the old AFL teams became members of the AFC. The old NFL teams became members of the NFC. Three teams from the old NFL were moved to the AFC: The Baltimore Colts, the Cleveland Browns and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

How many NFL conferences?

2 conferences AFC and NFC with four divisions in each conference

How many teams are in the NFL?

There are 32 teams in the NFL.

Where do the NFL teams get their jerseys?

Reebok makes the NFL Jerseys for NFL Teams.

How many leagues does the NFL have?

The NFL is one league with two "conferences," the NFC and AFC. Each conference consists of four "divisions" (north, south, east and west), and each division contains four teams.

How many NFL teams in all?

In the NFL their are 32 teams

How many teams are a part of the NFL?

There are 32 teams in the NFL.

What NFL teams are playing?

No nfl teams are playing today

How much NFL teams are there?

32 NFL football teams

What teams were in the NFL in 1950?

Click on the 'The NFL in 1950' link on this page to see the teams and rosters of the teams that were in the NFL in 1950.

Why do NCAA football have conferences and not NFL?

The NFL does have conferences -- two of them. The American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFL). The two conference winners play each other in the Super Bowl.

How is the NFL divided?

The NFL is divided into 2 conferences. The 2 conferences are each divided into 4 divisions. NFL AFC NFC North South East West North South East West

How does a team in the NFL get into the playoffs?

There are four divisions in each of the two conferences in the NFL. The eight division winners make the playoffs and the teams with the two best records in each conference that did not win their division make the playoffs as 'wildcards'.

Why is there a Super Bowl?

In competitive sports, the relative abilities and success of teams is generally subjective, so that "playoffs" and other procedures are used to define the "best" of all teams. The Super Bowl was established to decide the relative playing abilities between the teams of the National Football League compared to those of the American Football League, between whose teams there were no inter-league games. When the NFL absorbed the AFL teams in 1970, the Super Bowl remained as the final competition between the Conferences within the NFL. The conferences are not entirely conforming to the old NFL-AFL format, and the NFL schedule now includes many inter-conference games. The number of teams within each conference has been increased, and the division assignments last adjusted in 2002.

How much NFL football teams are there?

32 NFL football teams