which ever one hits the ground first is where he is down.
The spot of the ball depends entirely upon where the ball is located at the moment when the player is ruled "down." If the player extends the ball forward before his knee (or any part of his body except a foot or hand) touches down, then the ball will be spotted at the point where it was extended.
It is spotted at the point where the ball is when the knee hits the ground.
In the NFL, the ball is spotted when wherever the pass interference penalty occurred and is an automatic first down. In NCAA football, the ball is spotted wherever the penalty occurred up to 15 yards and is an automatic first down.
Yes, the ball would be spotted the farthest the player went, unless they went backwards on their own will.
No. The challenge is of the spot and not whether a first down is made. If the ball, after replay, is spotted anywhere other than where it was spotted before the replay it is considered a successful challenge.
If a player who was out of bounds steps back in and downs the ball, it would be a touchback, and the ball would be spotted on the 20-yard-line. However, that player would get penalized for illegal participation, bringing the ball back some.
In the NFL the player is marked down once he has complete control of the ball (no longer bobbling the ball) and has been touched down by contact. If the player bobbles the ball, but continues to run and is not down by contact the play continues. However if the player catches the ball but is still bobbling it while he is being pushed backward by a defender, the player will be marked down once he has control at that spot.
A player can pass the ball to a player located further down the court or he can run while dribbling the ball. A player cannot move his feet while holding the ball.
When a player jumps up and spikes a ball down on the other side of the court
Yes. Placement is always determined by where the ball is when the player goes down.
A fumble is down when the recovering player is down or when the ball goes out of bounds...so yes, if the ball is fumbled forward and recovered by the offense, or goes out of bounds, past the first down marker, it is a first down. The exception is on fourth down. In the NFL, only the player who fumbled the ball can advance it on fourth down.
The position of the ball determines the spot.