the batter advances to first base
Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.
If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike
if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness
If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.
if there was no pitch then no. if there was a pitch then yes.
If the batter swings or makes an attempt at a bunt then yes.
Yes, unless he swings at it.
No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.
Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."