Best Answer

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2008-06-26 12:59:28
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?
Write your answer...
Related questions

In Little League if a runner is running from 3rd base to home and the catcher is on the baseline and the runner knocks the catcher down what is the call?

Assuming the catcher is near home plate, the runner has to slide. If he doesn't and knocks the catcher down he is out. If the catcher is up the baseline and is waiting to make the tag the runner would be called out for crashing into him. If the slide knocks the catcher down, the outcome of the play would depend on whether the catcher maintained control of the ball during the tag and whether the runner touched home plate.

If the ball hits the runner stealing home plate is he out?

No... The base runner is never called out when the ball is thrown and hits the runner ...

Can a runner jump over the catcher to get to home plate?


What is a home plate collision?

A home plate collision is usually the case of a base runner that was on one of the bases trying to reach home plate in order to score while the other team's Catcher is trying to block home plate in order to prevent the base runner from touching home plate in an effort to prevent a run from scoring and the runner and the base runner usually slides into the Catcher that is blocking home plate which is what one example of a home plate collision is.

Dose the runner have to slide if the catcher blocks the plate?

It is only the "smart" thing to do..

Is it legal in MLB for a runner to jump over the catcher to score at home plate?


Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.

Can a catcher balk in baseball?

The catcher can cause a balk, but the balk is charged to the pitcher. If, during an intentional walk, the catcher steps out of the catcher's box before the ball leaves the pitcher's hand, it is a balk. Or, if a runner is trying to score from 3rd base by a steal or squeeze play and the catcher touches the batter or the batter's bat, or steps on home plate or in front of home plate without the ball, it is a balk.

Is runner out if he misses touching home plate and catcher drops ball and runner swats it away?

Yes, runner cannot intentionally dislodge ball from fielders glove.

When is it interference by the batter with the catcher when a runner from third base is trying to score?

When the batter is standing on the plate.

When advancing from third to home the runner runs into catcher whom is not making a play should the runner be ejected from the game?

This is a good question. If the catcher is in the base path when the runner is running home the runner will not be ejected and the point will be scored automatically. This is due to the fact that the only time the catcher can block home plate is when he has the ball, otherwise he must be out of the runners way.

How much latitude does a batter have in leaning over the plate in front of the catcher after a pitch to prevent the throw to 2nd?

Zero. The runner will be called out on batter's interference if the throw is obstructed in any way.

If a play at the plate the catcher loses their glove on the tag is the runner still out if the ball remains in the glove?

the player is safe. catcher must have control of the ball

A baseball diamond is a square that measures 90 feet on a side How far must the catcher throw the ball from home plate to second base to pick off a runner?

124 feet form the front of home plate to the front of second base. plus or minus a few inches

Catcher catches ball in front of plate?

It's a fair ball.

Is it legal in little league baseball to run into the catcher at home plate?

There are two situations. (1) If the catcher (or any defensive player) has possession of the ball the runner (Rule 7.08(a)(2) the runner is out if "the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag." In addition, if the umpire judges that the runner was malicious and trying to injure the fielder (including the catcher) the umpire may eject the player. However, if the catcher does NOT have possession of the ball and therefore is not waiting to make the tag, the catcher is guilty of obstruction (Rule 2.00, definition of obstruction). If the umpire makes this judgement, the runner would be awarded the base to the runner. This does not give the runner free license to slam into the catcher. Again, if the umpire judges the runner was malicious, the runner would be awarded the base (including scoring the run) and then the umpire may eject the player. In addition, if the umpire judges that the catcher was malicious and was malicious in their action (causing injury to the runner), the catcher may be ejected. So the bottom line is that the runner and catcher are expected to avoid malicious contact.

Is there a rule in the MLB involving collisions at home plate?

Surprisingly, no. Rule 7.06 states that a catcher may not block the plate unless in possession of the ball. Other than that, once the catcher has or is about to get the thrown ball, it's a free-for-all. The catcher can block as much of plate as he wants with any part of his body, and the runner can do just about anything to knock the ball out of the catcher's mitt. Although this has resulted, on several occasions, to injuries (sometimes serious) to the catcher (and sometimes the runner), baseball rule makers have never made any attempt to define what is and isn't permissible in this circumstance. Horrific collisions at the plate are just considered part of the game. Note, for instance, in the video below that the runner VERY intentionally rams his elbow into the catcher's neck, and neither the umpire, manager, or even the catcher think anything of it.

How far in front of home plate is the front of the batter's box?

The front of the batters box is three feet from the middle of home plate which is where the angles start that lead to the point facing the catcher.

Can a catcher in slow pitch softball block the plate if theres a play at home?

A catcher can only block home plate if they have possession of the ball. This is true for any base. However, if the defensive player does not have possession of the ball and they block the plate, the runner is granted the base due to obstruction.

Is there a rule in the MLB rule book that allows a fielder to block a base the same as the catcher at home plate?

No player including the catcher is allowed to block the base unless he has the ball. It would be defensive interference and the runner would be safe. The rule is generally not enforced if the ball and the runner arrive at the same time. The reason home plate is somewhat different than second or third is because a runner does not need to remain on home plate where at second and third, overrunning the bag could allow the runner to be tagged out.

A play at the plate catcher drops the ball on the base runner not the ground and put it back in their glove is it a catch or a dropped ball?

its a catch

Bases loaded runner from third misses home is he out on appeal?

Anytime a runner misses a base and an appeal is made he would be called out if the umpire saw it. Suppose only 1 runner crossed the plate, if the ball was thrown home and the catcher stepped on the plate the umpire would call him out (even if the runner is halfway back to the dugout), if multiple runners cross the plate, then and a ball is thrown home in play, the umpire will only make the "safe/out" call of the last runner to cross, or the play at the plate. In this case you would need to go through an official appeal process (ball to the pitcher on the mound, steps off the mound, throws home, catcher steps on the plate) --- The umpire will know what you are doing and if he saw it the same way, will call the runner that "missed home" out ---- If this would have been the 3rd out, his run and any runners that crossed home after him will not count

Do you go to jail for stealing a license plate?

Yes, stealing license plate is still considered theft.

If a ball is kicked out of the glove by the runner trying to go home is he out?

He's safe if he touches home before the catcher picks it up and tags him. If it was a force at home then he's out as soon as the catcher touches home plate.

Who backs up the pitcher on a throw back from the catcher to home plate on a pass ball where the runner is trying to steal home from third?

another player