answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the receiving team

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-10 21:02:34
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When kicking off the ball touches the receiving team player then bounces to the ground and is then touched before going out of bounds by the kicking team who gets the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If the kicking team touches a punt ball before the receiving team can the receiving team take possession of the ball without risking a turnover?

Yes. The ball is downed and turned over to the receiving team wherever the kicking team touches it.


Can the kicking team recover a kicked ball?

Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.


If a ball on a punt is first touched by the kicking team and then touched by the receiving team but then recovered by the kicking team. Does the kicking team get the ball?

If the kicking team touches the ball first, they cannot gain possession. Even if the receiving team picks up the ball and fumbles it, the kicking team cannot legally recover it. The ball is dead and possessed by the receivers at the recovery point. That's right, because a punt first touched by the kicking team is always considered an illegal touch. When a kicking team downs the ball on an ordinary punt play, that's technically an illegal touch, but no penalty is assessed -- the ball simply goes over to the receiving team at that point. In the scenario presented in the question, the only difference is that the kicking team failed to down the ball on their first touch. No matter what happens after that point, they are ineligible to recover the ball.


If the receiving team touches the ball before it goes ten yards and the kicking team recovers the ball the ball did not go ten yards who would get the ball?

Once the receiving team touches it becomes a live ball and if the kicking team recovers it regardless how far it went they have the ball.


Can a fumbled punt recovered by the kicking team be advanced down the field?

Yes. If the receiving team has gained control of the ball and then fumbled, the ball can be recovered and returned by the kicking team. If the ball is 'muffed' (ball touches a member of the receiving team but no member of the receiving team has possession) the ball can be recovered by the kicking team but not advanced.


If a baseball touches a fielders glove then bounces off the wall can it be caught for an out?

No, once the ball touches the wall, ground, or runner (after 1st being touched by a defender) the ball cannot be caught for an out


What is a Forced Touch in college football?

You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'


If receiving team touches ball on punt and does not have possession then kicking team touches ball before going out of bounds but does not gain possession which team gets the ball?

Receiving team. Same as a catch. You must have possession before its your ball.


If a punt is touched by the receiving team then recovered by the kicking team can it be advanced and who's ball is it?

Once the receiving team touches the ball it is live, like a fumble. Anybody can pick it up and run in whatever direction they like. Whoever is holding the ball at the end of the play takes possession, and yes, the punting team can score on such a play.


On a punt if the kicking team touches but does not down the ball and the receiving team tries to recover but does not get possession and the kicking team recovers Who?

As soon as anyone from the kicking team touches the ball, it is considered to be Illegal Touching. The receiving team takes possession of the ball where the Illegal Touch occurred. Just because the ball was touched, it does not mean it is a dead ball. The receiving team can try to get possession of the ball and move it forward. If the punt returner touches the football and loses possession, it can be recovered by the kicking team. However, given the way punts are covered in the NFL, this is unlikely to occur. The punt returner would likely be surrounded by players from the punting team, who typically crowd around the ball so it cannot be returned. The punt returner would most likely let the punting team down the ball and have his team take possession where the Illegal Touch took place.


In football on an onside kick if the ball touches the receiving team and then the kicking team recovers is it a turnover?

the defence doesnt have to touch the ball in order for the offence to get it.


Is a punt in football a live ball?

its a live ball if a player on the return team touches it before it goes out of bounds or before it touches a player on the kicking team. if someone on the kicking team touches it, the return team's offense starts at the spot it was touched. A ball is always live when it's in play. If you're asking whether either team can recover it, the is no. The above mine correctly points out under what circumstances a kicking team could recover, and what causes the ball to go dead.


What if a receiving player accidentally touches a punted football?

As soon as the ball is touched by a member of the receiving team, the ball is live and can be recovered by either team. (If the receiving team does not touch the ball, then a player from the punting team can only down the ball, not recover it.)


If a punt is partially blocked is it a live ball allowing the kicking team to recover it?

Yes it is a live ball and if the kicking team recovers they still have to get the first down and if the defense recovers its a turnover. The ball is live, however, the kicking team cannot regain possession of the ball unless the receiving team touches it first.


What is the rule for onside kicks in football?

No member of the kicking team may touch the ball until it has travelled 10 yards from where the ball was kicked unless a member of the receiving team touches it first.


When you are receiving a kickoff do you have to touch the ball in order for it to be a live ball?

Once the ball has gone 10 yards after being kicked during a kickoff, the ball is indeed live! During a punt, however, someone on the receiving team must touch the football for it to be live. The ball is always live during a kick. The only thing in question is who can recover, and when. On free kicks (including kickoffs and free kicks following a safety), the receiving team can recover the ball at any time, and the kicking team can recover either after it has traveled 10 yards or after the receiving team touches it after any distance. On scrimmage kicks (field goals and punts), the kicking team gives up possession of the ball unless (1) the ball fails to cross the line of scrimmage, (2) the kicking team then recovers the ball, and (3) the down played was not 4th down. In any other situation, the receiving team takes the ball. Once the ball crosses the line of scrimmage, the only way the kicking team can retake possession is if the receiving team fumbles, muffs, or touches the ball and the kicking team recovers.


After a kickoff if it travels over 10 yards is it anyone's ball?

Yes, as long as no one on either team touches it before the 10 yards. After the ball travels ten yards during a kickoff it is a free ball. That's correct. Once the ball travels 10 yards, anyone can recover it.The receiving team can always recover after anydistance. So if an onside kick only travels 5 yards instead of the required 10 and the receiving team recovers, the receiving team would take possession of the ball at that spot.The 10-yard rule is a restriction on the kicking team only. The kickers cannot recover the ball until is has traveled 10 yards, UNLESS the receiving team touches the ball first. After the receiving team touches the ball, the kicking team can recover, regardless of how far the ball has traveled.


If a player touches a base can he then return to the previous base if the runner in front of him returns to the base he touched?

Yes, as long as he or she touches any previously touched bases in reverse order.


Detroit Lions 3rd quarter downing ball inside the 5yd line by Smith?

This is when the kicking team touches the ball before the receiving team, AND the ball does not go over 10 yards. This is mostly seen during onside kicks.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter?

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


On a foul ball a fan touches the ball then bounces into the players glove is he out?

dead ball.. no out.


What are the rules for onside kick?

The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.


Can a blocked extra point try be recovered by the kicking team for a 2 point conversion?

In high school, the moment the ball is kicked on a try, the play is dead. In NCAA, if the ball touches the endzone or a player in the endzone, it is a touchback. In all other levels and situations, it works identical to a field goal or punt. It is called a 'scrimmage kick', and if the ball is blocked from behind the line of scrimmage, and offensive player may take possession and run in for a 2-pt conversion. If the kick sails beyond the line of scrimmage, the defense (or 'receiving team', since the kick obviously doesn't make it through the back of the endzone) has to touch the ball. However, attempted blocks near the line of scrimmage are ignored when considering touching by the defense. For more info: if the kicking team touches the ball after the try doesn't make it, it is like when a punt is touched by the kicking team. Regardless of what happens after the touch, the receiving team has the option to take possession at the 'first touching' spot (this is why punt units fully 'possess' the football instead of touching it).


How does your skin react when it touches something hot?

it reacts by burning where you have touched something


What is it when a guy touches a girl when he desnt want to be touched?

That is called sexual harassment.