Yes it is, many serious injuries have been caused by lawful contact, such as sliding tackles where the defender has touched the ball before he makes contact with the player in posession,as long as no malicious intent is apparent.
The runner is considered down when either a: His forward progress stops or b: any part of his body other than his foot or hand touches the ground AND he is touched by a player of an opposing team. There is no "down by contact" in college football. That's only in the pros. When a college player goes down he cannot get up and continue running, period. He does not have to be touched by an opposing player to be considered down.
no. it will be considered a foul. . .
No, if a player comes into contact with the corner post it is a 20m tap to the opposition
No, that is considered a foul
When the player who has the ball has a knee or elbow on the ground when in contact with a player from the opposite team. When the player that has the ball touches any other body part besides his hands on the ground and is in contact with a player from the opposite team.
No. It is not a violation if the contact with any part of the foot or leg was accidental. If it was intentional then the player is guilty of kicking the ball.
If the crosses the goal line (but not into the goal), and last touched an offensive player; it is a goal kick. It is a corner kick if it was last touched by a defending player.
Not in the NFLNope. At least not in the NFL. If a ball carrier falls down on top of an opposing player and does not otherwise touch the ground, he is not considered down by contact and may continue to advance the ball.Some part of the ball carrier's body, other than his hands or feet, has to make contact with the ground for him to be considered down(Technically, a knee or elbow or helmet has to make contact with the turf for the carrier to be down).This is true for all levels of football play: HS, NCAA, NFL.
after it is touched by a player.
This is from the NFL rulebook:"Any eligible offensive player may catch a forward pass. If a pass is touched by one eligible offensive player and touched or caught by a second offensive player, pass completion is legal. Further, all offensive players become eligible once a pass is touched by an eligible receiver or any defensive player."Since the pass was touched by either an eligible receiver or a defensive player and then caught it is a legal catch.
In the NFL the player is marked down once he has complete control of the ball (no longer bobbling the ball) and has been touched down by contact. If the player bobbles the ball, but continues to run and is not down by contact the play continues. However if the player catches the ball but is still bobbling it while he is being pushed backward by a defender, the player will be marked down once he has control at that spot.