Best Answer

It was founded as the Imperial Cricket Conference in 1909 by representatives from England, Australia and South Africa, renamed the International Cricket Conference in 1965, and took up its current name in 1989.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

The first Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

I'm not sure of the year, but I think the first ever international cricket match (unofficial) was usa vs Canada about 250 years ago maybe. Not sure on when. Just who.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When did the Cricket World Cup start?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

When does the Cricket World Cup 2011 take place?

The Cricket World Cup 2011 will start February 19, 2011 and go until April 2, 2011.

World cup 2011 start and end date - cricket?

ICC cricket world cup 2011 starts on February 19th, 2011 and ends on April 2nd, 2011.

What was the original name for cricket World Cup?

The original name of cricket world is ICC Cricket World Cup.

When cricket world cup of 2011 started?

It was start on 19 Feb 2011.

When was Cricket World Cup created?

Cricket World Cup was created in 1975.

Which country won cricket World Cup in 2000?

Cricket World Cup was not held in 2000. The 1999 cricket world cup was won by Australia.

Which country hosted cricket world cup 2011?

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup was the tenth Cricket World Cup. It was hosted in India.

Who won the 2003 cricket World Cup?

Australia won the 2003 cricket world cup.

Who was the runner-up of the 1996 Cricket World Cup?

England was the runner-up of the 1979 Cricket World Cup.

What was the former name of Reliance Cup?

1987 Cricket World Cup (Reliance World Cup) 1983 Cricket World Cup (Prudential Cup)

How many times has Australia played icc world cup final?

Australia have made six World Cup final appearances and have won the World Cup a record four times in total; 1987 Cricket World Cup, 1999 Cricket World Cup, 2003 Cricket World Cup & 2007 Cricket World Cup.

Who was the captain of England in the 1983 Cricket World Cup?

Mike Denness was the captain of the England Cricket team in the 1975 Cricket World Cup.