Best Answer

Seabiscuit [May 23, 1933 - May 17, 1947] never won any Kentucky Derby. He was named 'Horse of the Year' in 1938. But that was for his performance in races other than the Derby. It also was for his victory of November 1, 1938 over War Admiral [1934 - 1959], the Triple Crown winner of the Kentucky Derby and the Belmont and Preakness Stakes in the previous year.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When did Seabiscuit win the Kentucky Derby?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Continue Learning about General History

Who was the last mare to win the Kentucky Derby?

Winning Colors [February 14, 1985 - February 17, 2008] was the last filly to win the Kentucky Derby. The young mare finished first in the 1988 Derby. She was the third and most recent of three fillies to claim victory in the world-famous race that's held yearly at the Churchill Downs racetrack in Louisville, Kentucky.

Has a filly ever won the Kentucky Derby?

Yes, fillies have been among the Kentucky Derby's winners! Regret [1912 - April 11, 1934] was the first filly [female horse] to win the Kentucky Derby, in 1915, with a time of 2:05.40 minutes. Genuine Risk [February 15, 1977 - August 18, 2008] was the second filly to win the Derby, in 1980, with a time of 2:02.00 minutes. Winning Colors [February 14, 1985 - February 17, 2008] was the third and final filly to win the Derby, in 1988, with a time of 2:02.20 minutes.

Is the Kentucky Derby held in Kentucky?

Yes, the Kentucky Derby is held in Kentucky. It's held at the Churchill Downs racetrack in Louisville. The 2010 Derby represents the 136th running of the world-famous race.

The first African American Jockey to win 3 Kentucky Derby's?

Isaac Murphy was not only the first African American jockey to win the Kentucky Derby three times, he was the first jockey of any race to accomplish this feat. Murphy was inducted into the United States Racing Hall of Fame in 1955.

What was Mine That Bird's winning time in the 2009 Kentucky Derby?

Two [2] minutes 2.66 seconds was the time that it took Mine That Bird [foaled May 10, 2006] to win the 2009 Kentucky Derby. The winning jockey was Calvin H. Borel [b. November 8, 1966]. He had been the winning jockey in the 2007 Derby. He became the winning jockey again in the 2010 Derby.