Best Answer

Lewis Hamilton won the Formula One World Championship in 2008 in the very final turn of the season when he overtook Toyota's Timo Glock to pip Felipe Massa in the Driver's Standings by one point.

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When did Lewis hamilton win the formula one championship?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who won the Formula One Championship in 2014?

Lewis Hamilton.

Who won the Formula One Championship in 2015?

Lewis Hamilton.

Who won the 2008 Formula One World Championship?

Lewis Hamilton

Who is Lewis Hamilton and which country is he from?

Lewis Hamilton is a formula one world champion and driver. He won the championship in 2008. He is a British driver.

Who came second in the 2007 Formula One World Championship?

Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso came second but Lewis Hamilton came second more than Alonso so Lewis Hamilton came second.

Who won the Formula One Championship in 2008?

Lewis Hamilton won his first world championship in 2008, and has since won in 2014 and 2015.

How many points did Lewis Hamilton score to win the Formula One World Championship in 2008?

98 points.

Who was the youngest ever driver to win the Formula One World Championship?

Lewis Hamilton (UK) won the 2008 Formula 1 world championship at age 23, the youngest in history.

What are the winners of the formula one?

what is Lewis hamilton middle name what is Lewis hamilton middle name

Who won the formula one world championship in 2008?

The 2008 Brazilian Grand Prix was a Formula One motor race held on November 2, 2008 at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Interlagos, in São Paulo, Brazil. It was the 18th and final race of the 2008 Formula One season. The race, contested over 71 laps, was won by Ferrari driver Felipe Massa after starting from pole position. Fernando Alonso finished second in a Renault, and Kimi Räikkönen third in a Ferrari. Massa started the race alongside Toyota driver Jarno Trulli. Massa's team-mate Räikkönen began from third next to McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton. Rain fell minutes before the race, delaying the start, and as the track dried Massa established a lead of several seconds. More rain late in the race made the last few laps treacherous for the drivers, but could not prevent Massa from winning the Grand Prix. Sebastian Vettel of Toro Rosso finished in fourth place behind Alonso and Räikkönen. Hamilton passed Toyota's Timo Glock in the final corners of the race to finish fifth, securing him the points needed to take the Drivers' Championship. Hamilton received praise from many in the Formula One community, including former Champions Damon Hill and Michael Schumacher. The McLaren driver also received official congratulations from Queen Elizabeth II and British Prime Minister Gordon Brown. Massa's win secured him second in the Drivers' Championship, and helped Ferrari win the Constructors' Championship. The Grand Prix was David Coulthard's final race; the Scot retired after 246 race starts.

What will Lewis Hamilton do next year for a living?

Lewis Hamilton will most likely remain a Formula one driver for 2013.

How many races did Lewis Hamilton win in 2009?

In 2009, Lewis Hamilton won two Formula One races.