answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

MLB rules state that if there is a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter is out and the runners may advance at their own risk. If there is not a runner on first base and less than two outs, the batter may attempt to advance to first base and all other runners may advance at their own risk.

The uncaught third strike rule always applies when there are two outs.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2016-05-17 12:39:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When can or can not a batter advance to first on a dropped third strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can batter advance on dropped third strike?

yes, but he can be thrown out if the ball beats him to first after the dropped 3rd strike.


When does a batter need to be tagged after dropping strike 3?

Anytime a third strike is dropped the runner can advance to first unless he is tagged or the ball is thrown to first before he reaches.


Can runners advance on a dropped 3 rd strike and less than 2 outs?

Runners can advance in any case even with 2 outs. The batter is different. If first base is occupied with less than 2 outs then the batter cannot advance but everyone else can... It would be more of a steal than drop strike though. If there are 2 outs and he strikes out on a dropped strike, the batter is allowed to advance with a runner already occupying first. In any other case you can go whenever you please


Where a batter has a dropped third strike and make it to first what is this called?

It is recorded as a strike out and the batter/runner advance to 1st is due to a past ball or wild pitch which ever the case. In this situation the pitcher can record more than 3 strike out in 1 inning. There is no technical name it's just a dropped 3rd strike.


If a cather misses a third strike bunt can the batter advance to first?

The batter can make an attempt to reach first, but if the ball is fouled off by the batter, the batter is out (strike out).


With two out can a batter on a third dropped strike run to first?

Yes.


When is it necessary for a catcher to secure an out by tagging the batter or throwing to first on a strike out?

When there is a dropped 3rd strike


Can a batter run to first on dropped 3rd strike bunt in Softball?

Yes they can.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike if the batter is out at first?

Yes, as long as the batter thrown out at first is not the third out of the inning.


If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.


Can a runner steal second base on a dropped third strike?

On a dropped third strike, if there's a runner on first and less than 2 outs than the batter is automatically retired, whether or not the runner from first was stealing on the pitch. If there are 2 out, the batter can try to reach base, and the runner from first would be forced to try to advance to second. As on any other pitch, a runner can always try to advance, but would only be credited with a stolen base if he left the bag when the pitch was thrown, not after it was dropped.


Can a runner score on a dropped third strike?

Absolutely but only if the batter safely reaches first base. A dropped (actually uncaught) third strike is a live ball.


How do you score a missed third strike if catcher drops the ball and the batter is out at first?

"Dropped third strike", batter swings and misses the third strike, he then runs to an unoccupied first base, but catcher throws him out at first to complete the STRIKE OUT. it's a STRIKE OUT (Capital "K" in the book).


Is it an unearned run when the catcher throws to first to throw the batter out on a dropped third strike?

yes


What happens on a Dropped third strike with 2 outs?

When there are two outs, the batter may attempt to take first base, even if it was occupied on the pitch. The runner previously on first base would, of course, have to advance to second to allow the batter to reach.


When bases are loaded and two outs can the batter run down to first on a dropped third strike?

All that the rules say is the base must be unoccupied for the runner to advance with a dropped third strike. Now, in your situation there are two outs which changes things a little. It allows the runner on first to vacate the base by attempting to advance to second. If there is a runner on first with less than two outs the batter cannot attempt to take first on a dropped third strike no matter what the runner on first does. In your scenario as well, the bases are loaded so all runners must leave their base in order for the batter to advance to first making it a force play at home plate. All that the defense needs to do is step on home plate with the ball before the runner from third can successfully cross home plate in order to record the strike out.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


Can runners advance on a strike three that hits the batter on a swing?

Yes. Unless first base is occupied


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.


What is it called when a batter reaches 1st base on a dropped 3rd strike?

This is recorded as a strike out in the score book, and the pitcher is credited with a K. However, it does not count as an out should the runner advance successfully to first base, and the play is entered as a passed ball or a wild pitch.


What is the rule in girl's softball on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded?

If less than 2 outs the batter would be out because 1st base is occupied. If 2 outs then the batter and runners can advance. The catcher or fielder must make the out by retrieving the dropped ball at which point they can tag home, tag the batter or throw the ball to first to make the put out.


Is the batter out when a dropped third strike goes into fair territory and hits the batter attempting to run to first base?

Only if, in the judgment of the umpire, the batter made deliberate contact with the ball.


On dropped third strike if you tag the bat is the batter out?

No. You must tag the player or throw him out at first base - or get another runner out by force!!


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.