answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

second base man- as long as the outfielders throw was decnt and in his range. if not, well the outfielder.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-06-03 12:34:08
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When an outfielder throws the ball to second base and the throw pulls the second baseman off the bag and the second baseman doesn't catch the ball and the runner is safe who is charged with the error?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In MLB does the baseman need to touch the base to get the runner out?

If it is a force (i.e. there are people on all the bases behind the runner) play, then yes, the baseman needs to touch the base to get the runner out. If the runner is not required to move to that base, then the baseman must tag the runner to get him out. The baseman does not NEED to touch the base to record the out. The defense may tag the runner OR the bag.


Runner hits the ball and takes off to first and the first baseman grabs the ball and attempts to tag the runner but the runner takes a step back to home plate. Is the runner considered out?

No the runner is not out unless the first baseman tags him, the first baseman touches the bag before the runner there, or the runner steps out of the baseline. The runner could go back and forth on the base path for as long as he can stay safe. So simply, no the runner is not out yet.


Why does a second baseman have to tag a base stealer?

Any time a runner is not forced to advance to the next base, the defensiver player must tag the runner. If a runner is attempting to steal 2nd, either the 2nd baseman or the shortstop must tag the runner.


Can a first baseman be called for a balk?

Yes if he there is a runner on first and the first baseman has his foot is across foul line .


Can you toss your glove with the baseball in it to a first baseman and the runner be out?

lol and yes if you he has the ball making this wacky play the runner is out


Man at first ground ball first baseman tags first runner does not advance to second stays on first is this a double play?

If the runner remains standing on the bag when the 1st baseman touches the bag and the 1st baseman does not tag the runner prior to touching the bag, then the runner is safe and you have no double play. Answer To clarify, once the Batter becomes a batter-runner, the runner at first loses his right to occupy first base and is forced to advance. If he is tagged while standing on the base, he is out. If the first baseman then steps on first base the Batter-runner is also out -- Double Play. BUT, if the first baseman first steps on the base the batter-runner is out and the force is removed. If the runner standing on first base is now tagged he is safe.


What is a putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


What is Putout in baseball?

A putout is the term for getting a batter or runner out. An unassisted put out happens when only one fielder is involved, such as when an outfielder catches a fly ball, or the first baseman grabs a ground ball and touches the bag. An example of an assisted put out would be a ground ball that's fielded by an infielder who throws the ball to the first baseman.


When there is a runner on first - the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who steps on first and then tags the runner who remains on first - Who is out?

If the first baseman tags first base, the runner originally on first is therefore not forced to second base and he is safe at first.


How many errors were committed if there is a runner on 2nd base when the batter bunts to the pitcher but the throw deflects off the 1st base glove allowing the runner to score from 3rd?

The official scorer would have to determine if the throw was catchable. If the throw was, then the error would be on the first baseman and he would be charged as such. If on the other hand the throw was a bad one and the first baseman had to reach and could not catch the ball, then the error is on the pitcher. Only one error would be charged even though the base runner advanced two base and scored.


In baseball is the third baseman allowed to block the base against the incoming runner?

If the 3rd baseman blocks the base without having the ball in his possession, it's obstruction, and the runner could be awarded home by the umpire, but at the very least, the runner will be safe at 3B.


Can a second baseman go in the base line of second when runner is coming from first?

if he interferes with the runner that would be called obstruction

People also asked