answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

This is a good question. If the catcher is in the base path when the runner is running home the runner will not be ejected and the point will be scored automatically. This is due to the fact that the only time the catcher can block home plate is when he has the ball, otherwise he must be out of the runners way.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-03-27 01:31:21
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When advancing from third to home the runner runs into catcher whom is not making a play should the runner be ejected from the game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is it legal in little league baseball to run into the catcher at home plate?

There are two situations. (1) If the catcher (or any defensive player) has possession of the ball the runner (Rule 7.08(a)(2) the runner is out if "the runner does not slide or attempt to get around a fielder who has the ball and is waiting to make the tag." In addition, if the umpire judges that the runner was malicious and trying to injure the fielder (including the catcher) the umpire may eject the player. However, if the catcher does NOT have possession of the ball and therefore is not waiting to make the tag, the catcher is guilty of obstruction (Rule 2.00, definition of obstruction). If the umpire makes this judgement, the runner would be awarded the base to the runner. This does not give the runner free license to slam into the catcher. Again, if the umpire judges the runner was malicious, the runner would be awarded the base (including scoring the run) and then the umpire may eject the player. In addition, if the umpire judges that the catcher was malicious and was malicious in their action (causing injury to the runner), the catcher may be ejected. So the bottom line is that the runner and catcher are expected to avoid malicious contact.


In softball when a runner gets to the base before the fielders get the ball is called a what?

I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.


In Little League if a runner is running from 3rd base to home and the catcher is on the baseline and the runner knocks the catcher down what is the call?

Assuming the catcher is near home plate, the runner has to slide. If he doesn't and knocks the catcher down he is out. If the catcher is up the baseline and is waiting to make the tag the runner would be called out for crashing into him. If the slide knocks the catcher down, the outcome of the play would depend on whether the catcher maintained control of the ball during the tag and whether the runner touched home plate.


Can a runner advancing to second on a force play safely return to first prior to being tagged out if the batter runner was put out first?

Yes. Once the runner that just batted is tagged out there is no longer a force out for the runner advancing to second. Therefore he can continue to second or go back to first.


If a catcher hits a batter with the ball while trying to throw a runner out at third is the runner out?

If the batter showed signs of trying to move out of the way to give the catcher a clear lane to throw then neither the batter or the runner it out. If the batter did not move at all to provide the catcher a throwing lane, then the batter is out, but the runner is safe.


Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


If the catcher is on third base with no outs can the coach replace him with another runner?

A courtesy runner is typically used for the pitcher or catcher, especially in games on a time limit.


When a runner is on first and third and the runner on first advances to second with out a throw from the catcher is the runner credited with a stolen base?

yes


If the catcher is in the 3rd baseline when a runner is coming home and the runner leaps him or her is the runner considered out This is a 13-15 yr old Babe Ruth League?

the runner must avoid contact by sliding or stopping in Babe Ruth League even if he has the base path. The call will be strictly up to the umpire. If the catcher does not have the ball he could call interference, however if the catcher is making a play on the ball or has the ball the runner could be called safe or out depending on the sole discretion of the umpire determining if "contact was avoided by the base runner" --- I personally if i was the umpire would have called him out... leaping over a player is a very dangerous thing to do, when sliding is the alternative --- by jumping you take chance of the catcher getting hit in the head unprotected, or going to apply a tag and cause the base runner to go flying out of control --- RUNNER OUT!! if I was behind the plate


If you are a catcher and you have the ball in your bare hand tag the runner is it an out?

Assuming that the runner is off of a bag then yes.


What if catcher throws and hits base runner?

The runner is safe, in order for the runner to be considered out the fielder would have to have the ball in his glove or hand and tag the runner. *edit: It depends on where the runner is when he is hit. If the runner is running a direct path to first and is within the 3ft baseline, the runner is safe. If however the runner takes a lane outside the 3ft path, in a deliberate attempt to block the catcher's throwing lane, the runner is out for Interference.


Does the run count if the runner on third base tags up and scores on a caught pop fly and the runner on second base does not tag up and gets out advancing to third base?

yes, as long as there was only 0 or 1 out b/c if there was 2 outs the out on the advancing runner would end the inning


Is the ball still alive when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

No it is a dead ball


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


How can a runner score from third without a hit and two outs?

1. A passed ball on a pitch, and runner scores. 2. A 3rd strike and catcher misses the ball, overthrowing at first, runner scores. 3. A squeeze play, missed bunt, with catcher missing the ball, runner scores.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


How many possible ways can a baserunner advance a base or bases?

Here goes nothing: base hit (including home run, ground rule double) walk hit by pitch fielder's choice (includes all advancing on a ground out sac fly (includes all advancing on a fly out) sac bunt balk error, including ball thrown out of play steal (includes pick off attempt) passed ball wild pitch indifference (like a steal, but catcher does not try to throw him out) catcher's interference (batter hits catcher's glove, runner on first moves up) fielder's interference (according to the rule, the runner must already be advancing to that base) fielder throws equiment at a ball in an attempt to stop it (technically a triple, I believe) fan interference


Can the first baseman stand on first base while the runner is advancing to second on an extra base hit?

Yes, as long as he does not interfere with the base runner.


Does runner run if catcher drops third strike?

Yes


Can a runner jump over the catcher to get to home plate?

Yes.


Can a runner steal on a foul tip?

Only is the catcher catches it.


If a runner who is in play is advancing from third and the is hit by a line drive that is called foul is the runner out?

If a runner is in foul territory is hit by a batted ball, it is simply a foul ball and the runner returns to his base. However, if he is in play, he is out.


Does catcher have to throw at base that is being stealed on?

No, the catcher (or any other player) can choose not to throw to a base at any time, regardless of whether a runner is going there. If the catcher knows he can't get a stealing runner out, he will most likely not throw to avoid the risk of an error.


What happens when an advancing runner is hit with a batted ball?

The batter is out unless a fielder touched the ball


Can a runner advance to second with less than 2 outs in ASA softball?

What's the rest of the question? A runner can advance for many reasons. No outs, one out or two outs has no barring for the runner advancing.