Best Answer

If the football is first touched by the punting team, it's dead at that point.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a football is punted and touched by the punting team a receiving team player can pick up the ball with no risk of fuble for how long?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What if a receiving player accidentally touches a punted football?

As soon as the ball is touched by a member of the receiving team, the ball is live and can be recovered by either team. (If the receiving team does not touch the ball, then a player from the punting team can only down the ball, not recover it.)

In football on a punt when ball is fumbled and goes out of bounds last touched by kicking team player who is awarded possession of ball?

receiving team

What is the penalty when an offensive player touches the ball on a punt return and then it goes out of bounds?

Edit category This is not a basketball question. Punting is football related.

What is first touching rule in football after punting the ball?

The ball is placed at the point of the fartherest advance of the ball when the ball was declared dead. As an exmple if a player touches his knee down the ball will be placed where the fartherest point of the ball was when the knee touched down. This may or may not be where his knee touched down. The ball will be placed perpendicular to the line of scrimmge with the fartherest point of the ball at the point where the player had the ball when it was declared dead.

What are the implications of a player receiving a red card in a football match?

he or she mises three matches

What is a Forced Touch in college football?

You have 'illegal touching' on a player when a kick is touched by the kicking team. The receiving team, regardless of the outcome of the play, can choose to take the play at that spot. There is also the concept of 'touching' when a receiving player touches the ball on a kick. At that point, the kicking team can recover the kick and maintain possession. A "forced touch" is when that touch occurs because the opposing player 'forces' an opponent to touch the ball. For example, if a receiving player is being blocked by a kicking team player and the kicking team player blocks the receiving team player into the ball, the receiving team player is 'being forced to touch the ball by the block.' In this instance, the kicking team cannot recover the ball and maintain possession, because the touching of the ball by the receiving team was a 'force touch.'

When a football player is transferred the receiving club pays the transfer fee to the club that holds the player and then the receiving club is responsible for the player's salary also?

No, because he is now under contract with his new club

During a punt if ball is partially blocked but ball advances past scrimmage line can the kicking team recover and advance the ball?

Yes. 1) The punting team can regain possession if the receiving team commits a penalty prior to the punt that gives the punting team enough yardage for a first down. The punting team can also regain possession if one of the players on the receiving team attempting to block the punt hits the punter immediately after the punt without having first touched the ball after it left the punter's foot. The resulting penalty can be 5 yards or 15 yards and is a judgment call by the referee. The five yard penalty is called 'running into the punter' and the 15 yard penalty is called 'roughing the punter'. Basically, the difference in the penalties is how hard the punter is hit or whether the punter has his punting leg high in the air when he is hit (almost always results in a 15 yard penalty). If the penalty is 15 yards, the punting team retains possession and is awarded a first down. If it is a 5 yard penalty, should the added five yards not result in giving the punting team a first down, they can decline the penalty and allow the receiving team to take possession where the play was blown dead or they can accept the penalty and decide whether they want to try for a first down or to punt the ball again. There are some times when a receiving team player may hit the punter without first touching the ball and no penalty is called. Should the punter drop the ball or the snap from center hits the ground before the punter gets possession or the punter takes a step or steps as if he is going to run the ball instead of punt, the punter then is considered a runner and not a punter. No running into/roughing the punter penalty can be called unless the contact is considered extreme and/or intentional and then the penalty is 15 yards for 'unnecessary roughness'. Punters and place kickers are given extra protection by the rules of the game because they are in a very vulnerable position when they make contact with the ball and during their follow through. As long as there is no trickery by the punter, the snap is good, and the punter does not drop the ball the receiving team may not make contact with him after a punt that they have not touched without a penalty being called. Again, there is one caveat to this. A running into/roughing penalty cannot be called if the member of the receiving team that hits the punter does so due to being blocked into the punter by a member of the punting team. If the impetus of the receiving team's player is due to a block from the punting team's player, no penalty is called. 2) The punting team can regain possession if the receiving team fumbles the ball while returning the punt and the punting team recovers or if the ball touches a member of the receiving team prior to being possessed by a member of the receiving team and the punting team recovers (this is called a 'muff'). The rules are different pertaining to fumbling a punt return and muffing a punt return. If the ball is fumbled, the punting team can gain possession and advance the ball as far as they can. If the ball is muffed, the punting team can gain possession but they cannot advance the ball. The play will be whistled dead at the time the punting team gains possession of a muffed punt and the ball will be spotted at the yard line where the punting team gained possession. That's my take and it kinda goes off on a couple of tangents. But there is some explanation that needs to be done in an attempt to cover the bases when answering this question. Any referees out there that can add on to this?

If you catch the football and fall to your knees will i be down?

No. In Professional Football, in order to be "down" a receiver has to be tackled or in your scenario touched by a defensive player while on the ground.

What is used when a player wants to make a short shot in soccer?

It is called punting.

Can you interfere with the punting team player trying to catch the punt?

No. That's interference.

The definition of a hospital-pass in football?

A pass given to a player who will inevitably be heavily-attacked on receiving the ball.