answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2015-03-09 03:52:12
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Biology

20 cards

What were the two most influential early civilizations on the European continent

What is an example of an artifact

What were key features of early civilizations

In 1929 why did the stock market crash

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
3.1
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
10 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is it called when the batter swings at a pitch and misses it?

Something


What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

the batter advances to first base


When does a strike in softball occur?

if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


What are 3 ways a strike is called on a batter for softball?

The batter watches a strike go by and doesn't swing the bat. A batter swings at a strike and misses. A batter swings at a ball and misses. A batter could also attempt to bunt on the third strike, bunting it foul would lead to the batter being called out.


Can batter run if catcher misses a pitch?

Yes


If a batter swings and misses around and hits ball?

its a hit if its lands in far ground or foul it not


If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits the batter is it a strike?

Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!


Can it be a strike to swing at a ground ball?

A pitched ball that touches the ground is a live ball. If the batter swings and misses, it is a strike. If the batter swings and hits the ball, it is treated as any other hit ball.


Is it called a ball when the softball hits the ground in front of home plate?

In most cases this is called a ball. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, however, the pitch is called a strike. If the player swings and gets on base, the ball is obviously not called anything.


When the batter swings at a pitch and miss it?

It is a strike. 3 strikes and you're out.


Is it a earned run if a batter swings and misses a wild pitch on a third strike and he later scores?

If the batter reaches base as the result of a Wild Pitch, and he later scores, it would be an Earned Run. However, if he reaches base as the result of a Passed Ball, and he later scores, it would be an Unearned Run.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


What if batter swings and hits a bounced ball on the pitch and hits it fair?

Fair ball.


How could Tim Wakefield strike out 4 batters in one inning?

runner swings and misses a wild pitch or passed ball and reaches first before tagged or forced out....counts as a K though batter is at first


Is it catcher interference if the batter is in the box doing practice swings and makes contact with the catcher's glove?

if there was no pitch then no. if there was a pitch then yes.


Can a pitch that lands on home plate be a strike?

If the batter swings or makes an attempt at a bunt then yes.


If pitch hits ground in fastpitch baseball then hits the batter does he go to first?

Yes, unless he swings at it.


If the batter attempts to hit the ball but the pitch hits her does she get the base?

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


With a runner on third batter swings and misses on the third strike and the ball hits the batter the runner on third crosses homeplate when the ball bounces away from the catcher Does the run score?

Batter is out, the ball is dead when it hits the batter. Runner at third returns to third.


Is there a legal pitch where the ball bounces off the ground before it goes over the home plate?

Well No, but remember if he swings its a strike The pitch is legal but it cannot be called a strike unless the batter swings and misses or hits the ball foul. The batter may swing at a ball that hits the ground before home plate and if he hits it fair play goes on. In other words, if a batter were to hit a home run on a pitched ball that hit the ground before home plate, it would be ruled a home run.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.