answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, once you are tagged out you don't get credited with anything if you are the one at bat. Now if another batter hits the ball and there was already a man on base at first and he gets tagged at 2nd base, then yes the man on 1st base would get the single from his previous at bat If the batted ball was cleanly a base hit and he was thrown out trying to advance past first base then the batter would be given the hit corresponding to the last base the batter reached safely. If the batter was thrown out at second, the batter would be given a single. If the batter was thrown out at third, the batter would be given a double. If the batter was thrown out at home plate, the batter would be given a triple.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-05 23:22:50
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When a batter hits safely to the out field and is thrown out at second is he credited with a single?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

There is a runner on 1st base with 1 out Next batter hits a ground ball to the outfield and reaches first base and runner is out at second base Does the hitter ger credited for a single?

That would depend on how the runner was retired at second base. For example, if the runner slipped and fell on his way to second base and the outfielder had the time to throw him out on a force play, the batter would not get credited with a base hit. If the runner made it to second base safely and then slipped rounding the bag and the outfielder threw to second base and the runner was tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit. If a runner is forced out at any base, regardless of where the ball was hit, the batter is not credited with a base hit.


Does the hitter get credited for a single if he makes a ground ball hit to the outfield and the runner at first gets forced out at second base?

No. In no situation can a batter be credited with a base hit if a runner is forced out.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.


What is a single in playing baseball?

A single is a hit that allows the batter to reach first base safely.


If a batter hits a base hit but is thrown out at second is he awarded the base hit?

If he tries to stretch a single into a double and is thrown out as a result, then no, it is scored as an out at second base, not a base hit. The above is incorrect. The batter would be credited with a base hit -- specifically, a single -- and also as being thrown out at second. Check the box score from the Phillies night game of 2012 September 9 -- in the fifth inning Ryan Howard was thrown out at second exactly as described as above, but was credited with a hit.


What is the ruling when a batter hits a grand slam but passes the runner at first between first and second...Does he get the RBIs...Does he get a single?

The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.


If a batter hits a inside the park home run but is called out for missing second base can a runner on third base score?

Yes because the runner who go called out for missing second would still be credited with a single


If a batter hits a triple and misses second base and the defense appeals and the batter is called out how is that scored?

It is scored as a single, out at second.


If a batter hits a pitch and the ball hits a runner how is it scored?

The play is dead, the runner that was hit is out, and the batter reaches first base and is credited with a single.


Can a hitter be considered a force out after he reaches first safely but rounds first?

No, once the batter/runner reached 1st he would need to be tagged out if he rounds 1st. He would be credited with a single (if everything else met the criteria for a base hit) -- then if you tagged him he would be out


Is it possible to hit 3 triples 3 singles and have a stolen base in one inning?

Batter 1: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 2: Triples but is out at the plate trying to stretch it to an inside the park homerun. Batter 3: Triples and stays at third. Batter 4: Hits an infield single, runner holds at third. Batter 4: Steals second while runner at third holds. Batter 5: Hits an infield single, runners at second and third hold. Batter 6: Hits a ball that strikes a baserunner in play. Runner is out and batter is credited with a single. No runs, 6 hits, a stolen base, and three LOB.


Does a batter get credit for hit if the batted ball hits a base runner?

If a batted ball hits a runner in fair territory, the runner is out, and the batter is credited with a single and takes 1st base


Runner on first batter hits between first and second runner is hit by ball running to second how is the batter scored?

The batter is awarded a single. MLB Rule 10.05(5) states that a batter is credited with a base hit when: "A fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit".


Runner on first Batter lays down sacrifice bunt Pitcher fields ball and throws to second Runner safe at second Is this scored a fielder's choice or a sacrifice bunt for the batter?

Neither. It's a single. Sorry, this is incorrect. It could be scored, and probably would be, as a Sacrifice Hit (bunt), Fielder's Choice. The batter would not be charged with a time at bat, and would not be credited with a hit. It could be scored as a hit, if, in the official scorers opinion, the batter would have beat the throw to first had it been made. If the runner had been thrown out at second, the batter would not be credited with a sacrifice, but would be charged with a time at bat and reaching first on a Fielder's Choice.


Does the batter get a hit when the baseball he hits then hits the runner moving from 1st base to 2nd?

If a batted ball that a fielder has no chance to field hits a runner, the runner is called out and the batter is credited with a single.


Is a batter credited with a hit or a fielder's choice if he hits a runner going to second base?

This situation just occurred in a game between the Angels and the Orioles in May, 2007. Vladimir Guerrero hit a ball to the right side of the infield that struck baserunner Reggie Willits. Willits was ruled out and Guerrero was credited with a single.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


Does it count as a hit if you get thrown out trying to stretch a single into a double?

Yes. If you reach base safely from a base hit you are credited with a hit regardless of whether you are thrown out attempting to stretch it.


During a baseball game if you hit the ball and reach first base safely but try to strtch it into a double and are thrown out is it still a single even though you're out at second?

Yes. it is a single. If the runner makes it to second on an error it is also a single.


With bases loaded and 2 outs batter hits a single the runner on 3rd fails to touch home on the way in from 3rd on appeal runner is called out is the hitter still credited with a single?

If he got to first before the out occured it is a single.


Does the run count if a runner is on third with 2 outs and the batter hits a triple but misses 2nd base and is out on appeal?

Since "Appeals" are extensions of the play. All runs scored would count, and the batter would be credited with a single, since that was the last base he reached safely and the inning would be over (as this would be the 3rd out), now if he missed 1st base, then no runs would count as he never reached base safely, This would be the case even if he hit a homerun.


What happens to the batter when a suicide squeeze bunt hits the runner from third base in fair territory If it matters I should add that the batter never left the batter's box?

It does not matter what the batter did. If the runner from 3rd was in fair territory when the ball hit him -- the runner is out, batter is credited with a single and gets to go to 1st base


Is it possible to hit a single but not get to first base?

Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.


When a batter advances to second on a bad throw to from the outfield is this a 2 base hit or a single and a stolen base?

It counts as a single. an error is awarded to the fielder


When a hitter gets a single yet advances all the way home on overthrows and there is a runner on base that also scores does the hitter receive any RBI's?

The batter could be credited with an RBI if, in the scorers judgment the base runner would have scored had there not been any overthrows (errors). For example, the batten singles and the runner is on third and scores, then the overthrows occur. The batter is credited with one RBI. In your original question, the batter would, in no case, be credited with an RBI on his own score.