Best Answer

Expansion to 10 teams came to the American League in 1961, with the addition of the Los Angeles Angels the Minnesota Twins. The National League expanded to 10 teams in 1962 with the addition of the New York Mets and the Houston Colt 45's. The next round of expansion, and the introduction of divisonal play, came in 1969, as each league expanded to 2 divsions of 6 teams each. New teams were the Kansas City Royals and Seattle Pilots (soon to move and become the Milwaukee Brewers) in the American League, and the Montreal Expos and San Diego Padres in the National League.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2006-10-20 22:27:54
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What year did divisional play begin in baseball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
People also asked