Best Answer

Archery completion at the Olympic games allow only one type of bow known as Recurve Limited (that is a Recurve bow with a sight, shot with finger release) according to the NFAA, or simple known as Recurve according to the USAA and NAA. No Compound bows, traditional bows or bare bow division.

The rules are set by the Federation Internationale de Tir a l'Arc (FITA), the international governing body of the sport.

There are four archery events held at the Olympics: Men's Individual, Women's Individual, Men's Team and Women's Team.
A little bit outdated - but much more details can be found at:

Answer improved by: CUPID'S GATE ARCHERY - San Francisco & Marin County

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What types of archery competition are there on the olympic games?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What types of building were erected for the olympic games?

Stadiums Accommodation (the Olympic village) Media Centers

What do people shoot arrows at?

Archery, and some types of hunting.

In addition to the official Olympic Games what other types of Olympic events are held?

They also run the Winter & Paralympics

What are the 2 different types of olympic games?

There is the Winter Olympics and the Sumner Olympics

What are the three types of medals given out at the Olympic Games?

Gold, silver and bronze.

How many kinds of sport were in the first Olympic Games?

every types such as cricket,badmintonetc...

What competitions in archery are there?

There are many competitions in archery such as 3D shoots, target competition (most common) Clout archery, Flight Archery. The Olimpic games are comprized of the top shooters from all over the world. During the Olimpics there are many catagories, such as Compound and Recurve. They are broken down in men and Womans catagories. 3D Archery is my favorite and brings in more of the hunter. Usually the Course of targets are set up on a trail, either in the woods or a buildings, and are actual 3D targets made of foam carved out into diffrent animals. If you go to you tube, you can watch a lot of Olimpic Archery shoot off's. The link below describes a few types of competitions that you can compete in.

How many types of bow are used in archery?

there are 37 types of bows

How many events are there at the Olympic games 2012?

There were 36 different types of sporting events taking place.

When did archery become an Olympic sport?

Archery was a sport all the way back in medieval times, and perhaps all the back in ancient times. People trained in various ways and especially in Medieval England, laws were passed to make archery practice mandatory, so people made sports and competitive events to turn the frustrating law into something fun, there are many examples of sport types that involved archery such as: - Standard archery rounds such as Portsmouth rounds (like you'd see on a Robin Hood movie or something similar) - Clout shooting (shoot as close as possible to a flag off in the distance) - Coconut shy equivalent (shooting at various small objects which simulate French heads!) - William Tell challenge (one unfortunate soul has an apple shot off of his head!) - Splitting the wand (a broomstick size pole in the ground has to be shot at and split, this is harder than it sounds) - Flight shooting (shoot as far as possible, simple as that) - Hunting challenges (this one is more of a guess, but it is quite easy to imagine happening) ... And a few more I cannot remember. The point is, archery has been a sport for a very long time, and I didn't even mention before that the Greeks probably had archery as an Olympic event, since they invented it, and archery usage was common practice back then as well. (NOTE: I am a real archer and I am an expert on the subject)

What is the secret code for Shadow's mission in Mario and Sonic at the Olympic Games?

theres are no types of codes for the game you will have to unlock it normally

Types of Market Competition?

Perfect Competition, Monopoly, Monopolistic Competition or Oligopoly