Best Answer

Remember that College Football division I does not always have a single national champion. In 1958:

Iowa won one the Football Writers poll, arguably the most prestigious organization at the time to vote on a national champion after the bowls were played.

LSU won all other major polls, and widely considered as the National Champions.

It is considered a split title because LSU played an extremely weak schedule that included no teams with black athletes. Iowa played a much more difficult schedule and was much more impressive in doing so, think 2007 Florida 13-1 vs. Utah 13-0. Florida were National Champions, Utah was not.


Iowa Integrated National Champions

LSU White-Only National Champions

The NCAA recognizes both teams being National Champs for 1958.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-25 06:31:09
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What team won the 1958 college football national championship?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What year did LSU win the national championship in football?

1958, 2003, and 2007.

Has the University of Southern Mississippi ever won a football national championship?

The University of Southern Mississippi was voted by the UPI as national champions in football in both 1958 and 1962 in what was then know as the"Small College Division." USM was called Mississippi Southern College at the time of its national championships.

Has boise state ever won a national football championship game?

Yes In 1980 Division 1-AA against Eastern Kentucky in Sacramento, California. Jim Criner was the head coach. BSU also won the national Championship as a Junior College in 1958.

Who did lsu play in 1958 for the national championship in football?

LSU didn't play in the national championship they played Climson in the Suger Bowl, but do to LSU being number 1 they were awarded the title with Iowa

Who won the NASCAR championship in 1958?

Lee Petty won the Nascar Grand National Series championship in 1958.

What actors and actresses appeared in All-Ireland Championship Football Final 1958 - 1958?

The cast of All-Ireland Championship Football Final 1958 - 1958 includes: Paddy Farnan as himself Ollie Freaney as himself Owen Gribben as himself Johnny Joyce as himself

How many times has Louisiana State University won the national championship in football?

3 times. 1958, 2003, 2007 LSU is also recognized as the national champion in 1908, but it isn't recognized as a national championship because it was before the Polls decided champions starting in 1936.

How many National Championships have the LSU Tigers won in football?

Three times: 1958, 2003, 2007. LSU is the first team to win the BCS Championship twice.

When was 2-point conversion introduced to college football?


Who won the football World Cup in 1958?

Sweden hosted the Championship and were runners up to Brazil.

Has University of Southern Mississippi ever won ANY national title?

yes in football. twice. in 1958 and 1962 when it was called Mississippi southern college

Who was the college football champions in 1958?

LSU won the AP and UPI polls for the 1958 college football season. Their record that year was 11-0 and they beat Clemson in the Sugar Bowl by a score of 7-0.

Which British driver first won the Formula One world championship?

Mike Hawthorn was the first British National to win a F1 Championship in 1958.

Who was the first black person to play in and win Wimbledon and the US national tennis championship?

The first black person to win both the US national tennis championship and Wimbledon was Althea Gibson in 1957 and 1958.

Who was the coach of lsu when they won the national championship in 1958?

That was Paul Dietzel who was LSU's head coach between 1955-1961.

Did they ever make goal posts out of wood?

Yes! I am 67 years old and I remember winning the Ohio State championship in 1958 and we tour down the goal post and they were wood. This was at the Mt. Union College football field in Alliance, Ohio.

How many national championships has Louisiana State University had in college football?

LSU officially claims three national championships (1958, 2003 & 2007); however, the school has been recognized as national champions by polling organizations on four additional occasions: 1908, 1935, 1936 and 1962.

Who was the French football champions 1958?

The French football champions in 1958 was nice.

How many football championships has LSU won?

LSU has won 3 national championships: 1958, 2003, and 2007 2. 1958 and 2003 (but soon to be 3).

Who was the first football coach to equip his team in white football shoes?

Leo Strang--Head Coach of the Massillon Tigers HS Football Team-- first used white shoes with his 1958 National and State Championship team (used the entire season--kid loved them, because they made them look particularly fast during Friday night lights.

What year did the Colts win their first championship?

The Colts first championship came in the 1958 season when they defeated the New York Giants in overtime, 23-17, in the NFL championship game. The Colts first conference championship was also in 1958.

When was British Schools Chess Championship created?

British Schools Chess Championship was created in 1958.

What college football team won the 1958 national championship?

According to two of the four major polling organizations, the AP and the UPI, the 1958 LSU team (11-0 record) were granted the title of National Champions prior to bowl games and the end of the season. However, according to the Football Writers Association of America, which was the most well recognized and respected college football Association of the time and voted AFTER the Bowl Games, in 1958 the title went the University of Iowa Hawkeyes (8-1-1) who won the ROSE BOWL 38-12 against California that year. The Hawkeyes were awarded the Grantland Rice Award National Title Trophy following the 1958 season. The NCAA recognizes four voting authorities from 1954 to present day. The NCAA recognizes both LSU and Iowa as "National Champions" from 1958. Partly because Iowa played a much more difficult "integrated"(black and white athletes) schedule, due in part the fact that LSU refused to schedule or play against black athletes due to still being racist bigots that year. Further, there have been many years when conflicting National Champions were named by differing organizations prior to the Championship Bowl Game including years where Undefeated teams were not name National Champions in favor of other teams who played a more difficult schedule and had 1 loss, specifically during the 1950's and the 1960's.

Who won 1958 NFL football championship?

the Baltimore colts won the 1958 championship game with johnny unitais as the QB when the colts were still in Baltimore and not in indiappilous. sorry for the spelling i am only 12 but trust me on the answer, i read it in a book and saw the movie on the history channal, look at it, it is called the greatest game ever plaved

What team won Netherlands league in 1958?

DON won the Netherlands League championship in 1958.