The MLB record for most consecutive innings pitched without giving up a walk is held by Bill Fischer of the Kansas City Athletics who threw 84 1/3 consecutive innings without issueing a base on balls between August 3, 1962 and September 30, 1962.
How about walter johnson, in 1916 with 369.2 innings? Extra, he even hit one in september of that season.
Bill Fischer of the 1962 Kansas City Athletics holds the MLB and American League record for most consecutive innings pitched with allowing a walk with 84 1/3.Greg Maddux holds the National League record at 72 1/3 consecutive innings pitched without allowing a walk.
Unlike the starting pitcher, a relief pitcher has no minimum number of innings pitched. Given the definition of a win, however, it's impossible for a pitcher to achieve it without pitching at least 0.1 inning (one out).
Any team that had an opposing pitcher throw a perfect game or no hitter
The MLB pitcher that pitched the most innings without giving up a grand slam was Hall of Famer Jim Palmer of the Baltimore Orioles. He pitched 3948 innings in the regular season and another 124 1/3 innings in the postseason without giving up a grand slam.
Tom Seaver pitched 10 games that he won in a row in 1969
A pitcher's era (earned run average) is calculated as follows: 1. Number of Earned Runs 2. Times 9 3. Divided by number of innings pitched So, if a pitcher gives up 3 earned runs in 5 innings then we first multiply 3 times 9 = 27. Then we take 27 and divide it by 5 (for innings pitched) to get an era of 5.4. Also, an earned run is a run that scores without the defense creating any errors.
I'm not sure about the total by one team... but the most total by one player was Orel Hershiser of The Dodgers when he went 59 innings in a row without giving up a run.AnswerMost consecutive shutout innings pitched by a team: In the National League, the Pittsburgh Pirates, 56 innings, from 6-01-1903 to 6-09-1903. In the American League, the Baltimore Orioles, 54 innings, from 9-01-1974 to 9-07-1974. The 1969 Mets finished off that season throwing 4 consecutive shutouts and 3 of them against the Phils before ending the season against the Cubbies. I think at that time it was the record for one team throwing consecutive shutout inning against another.
Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.
Yes.The most wins a pitcher in MLB has had in a season without a loss is 12. That was by Tom Zachary of the 1929 New York Yankees who pitched in 26 games and threw 119 2/3 innings.
A starting pitcher needs to pitch at least 5 innings to get the win. Any subsequent pitcher can get the win even if he only retires one batter (or base runner). If the starting pitcher leaves with the lead but without pitching 5 innings, and his team maintains that lead, the official scorer can decide which pitcher to give the win to.
No baserunnerIf a pitcher faces the minimum number of batters for all the innings played (which means it could go to extra innings) without allowing a baserunner, he has pitched a perfect game: no hits, no walks, no batters hit-by-pitch, no batters reach on an error. Also, the pitcher cannot be substituted.
No, Because a pitcher has to throw at least five innings of work.
Rahul Dravid of India - 120 inns.
Complete Game, a stat for pitchers. This means that the pitcher has pitched through the entire game without any relief help from the bullpen, and has played all 9 innings.
For example, if a pitcher comes in to start the seventh inning, gives up two base hits and is replaced without recording an out, the box score will show he pitched 0 innings. At the bottom of the box score it will have a statement "<name of pitcher> pitched to two batters in the seventh inning'. Sometimes you hear broadcasters refer to it as 'plus'. Say the starter is replaced after giving up a base hit in the seventh inning but before recording any outs. You might hear the broadcaster say "<name of pitcher> went six plus innings today".
Lucas Luetge for Seattle mariners
Jim Palmer. Palmer, who spent his entire career (1965-1984) with the Baltimore Orioles, pitched 3948 innings without giving up a grand slam home run.
Under the current rules, it's impossible. A pitcher doesn't get credit for a perfect game unless he pitches the entire game and allows no baserunners. There have been a few cases where a pitcher went 9 perfect innings then lost the game in extra innings. It used to be the case where if a pitcher pitched nine perfect innings, he would get credit for a perfect game even if he allowed baserunners in extra innings. However, these games are no longer officially credited as perfect games. On May 26, 1959, Pittsburgh Pirate Harvey Haddix pitched 12 perfect innings but gave up an error in the 13th. The Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Braves 3-0. On June 3, 1995, Montreal Expo Pedro Martinez pitched 9 perfect innings but gave up a hit in the 10th. The Expos beat the San Diego Padres 1-0. It is possible to throw a no-hitter but still lose the game. New York Yankee Andy Hawkins and Boston Red Sox Matt Young both lost games in the early 90's without giving up a hit. The runs came as a result of errors by other team members.
I apologize, but my answers keep getting deleted, or changed .If you send out your old pitcher (I will clarify so it doesn't get deleted again) -- the pitcher that was previously in -- you can go out to the mound at that time before he faces a pitcher and make the change.. by doing this you would essentially get a free visit to the mound as the visit would go towards the old pitcher, not the new --- a pitcher that has pitched in previous innings, does not have to pitch to anyone just because he came in to start the inning.
A save is when a relief pitcher comes in with his team leading and finishes the game without giving up the lead. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Not all such appearances are saves. To be credited with a save, the pitcher's team must win, he must be the pitcher at the end of the game, and he must not be credited with the win. (Essentially the above answer.) But then he must qualify in one of three additional ways: (1) he pitched effectively for at least three innings; (2) he came into the game with his team leading by no more than 3 runs, and pitched at least one full inning; or (3) he entered the game with the tying run on base, at bat, or on deck.
To get out without scoring on both innings is a pair, to get out without scoring first ball is a golden duck, so to get out without scoring first ball on both innings is a golden pair.