answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official Baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below:

" He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.

APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-04-24 16:52:05
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits a batter Is it a dead ball or live ball?

live ball


If a batter hits a pitched ball that bounces in front of the plate and it goes out of the park for a home run is this the correct ruling?

Yes, it is scored as a home run.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.


What is the ruling when the pitched ball is hit then hits the catcher's mitt and falls to the ground?

if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference


What is the ruling of a hit ball after it bounces off the ground?

Depending on the sport, the batter cannot be caught out, the ball remains in play, the ball must be hit before touching the ground again or the ball remains in play until it stops of its own accord.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bonces before it is swung at and hit?

There is no difference from one that does not bounce.


If a batted ball hits home plate and bounces in the air and is caught before it touches the ground what is the ruling?

It is a fair ball in play if it is in fair territory when it is caught.


What is the ruling if a batter leans in the strike zone to get hit by the ball?

The pitch is ruled a strike and the batter is not awarded first base.


Is a batter hit by a bouncing pitched ball awarded 1st base?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


What is the ruling when a pitch ball hits the ground first then is hit by the batter?

Foul


Catcher interfers with batter and tags runner from third out ruling?

yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped


What is the ruling when a batter hits a ball that hits the fence and goes over?

It is a Home Run.


What is the ruling when a batter hits a grand slam but passes the runner at first between first and second...Does he get the RBIs...Does he get a single?

The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.


What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

Strike


If a batter throws his bat is it a dead ball out?

A batter being out for throwing his bat is not a baseball rule -- this is just a rule that leagues put into their own rules for safety and you would have to refer to your league on that ruling. If we are talking MLB -- there is no rule for a batter being called out if he throws his bat


What is the ruling if an offensive player kicks a batted ball in play in baseball?

If the batter intentionally or accidently kicks the ball, he is considered out. Any contact after a batted ball by the batter is an out. See the rules, 6 (batter), and 7 (runner) in the link below. Keep in mind that the offensive players on the field are the batter and runners. If the ball makes incidental contact with an offensive player (as opposed to intentional on the part of a defensive player) before the ball contacts a defensive player, the offensive player is out. One exception to this is when a ball contacts a batter in the batter's box, provided the batter is not swinging on a third strike, in which case he is out. Ball contact with the batter mean he takes first, with the one exception of course.


What is the ruling if the batter passes second base and play is ruled a ground rule double?

On a ground rule double, the batter is awarded second base and all runners advance two bases. The ball is dead.


Who was ruling Afghanistan before 2001?

The Taliban.


In slow pitch softball can you hit a pitch that bounces on the plate first?

Back about 8 yrs ago when I was an ASA umpire, the ruling was that the ball was dead if it hit the plate.


What was the ruling group in Russia before the revolution?

the group was monarchy


Who ruled before Queen Victoria?

Ruling directly before her was William IV, her uncle.


What base does a batter get if on ball four the ball goes into the dugout?

I believe the correct ruling is that the batter would be awarded 2B. On ball 4, he is entitled to 1B without liability of being put, though the ball is still live. Once the pitched ball enters the dugout (dead ball territory), all runners would be awarded one base from the base occupied at the time of the pitch. So in this particular scenario, even though the batter had not actually reached 1B at the time the pitched ball entered the dead ball territory, I believe he would be awarded 2B.Follow-up:I've researched this further, and found my above answer is wrong. If ball 4 goes directly into the dugout, the batter gets 1B only and all runner's on base get one base from the base where they were at the time of the pitch. However, if the pitch gets past the catcher, touches a defensive player, and then goes into the dugout, the batter only get 1B, but all other runners get two bases.


What empire names existd before and there ruling place?

i dnt know