answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

According to the rule book, the umpire will declare the pitch a strike if the ball touches the batter as the batter strikes at the ball, or if the ball touches the batter while the ball is in the strike zone.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2014-03-14 07:15:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the ruling for ASA fast pitch softball on a batter hitting the ball but the ball hits her hand as she hits the ball to the infield?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter in softball?

If it hit the batter the batter gets first and it's scored as a hit by pitch.


Can a bunt be an infield fly ruling?

No, an attempted bunt can never be ruled an infield fly.


What is ruling for sac fly in slow pitch softball when fielder bobbles ball?

A sacrifice fly is credited to the batter only if a run scores. A runner who moves from second to third base does not result in a sacrifice fly for the batter. A sacrifice fly is not counted as a time at bat [batter is 0 for 0] and the batter is credited with [at least 1] a run batted in. The bobble is a moot point as the runner can tag up and run upon the first touch by the fielder. Otherwise, an outfielder could intentionally bobble/juggle a ball all the way back to the infield.


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate?

Strike


What is the ruling if a batter leans in the strike zone to get hit by the ball?

The pitch is ruled a strike and the batter is not awarded first base.


What is the ruling where the runner interferes with a fielder trying to catch an Infield Fly Rule Pop-up?

The runner is also out and the ball is dead. All runners go back to previous bases.


What is the ruling when a pitch ball hits the ground first then is hit by the batter?

Foul


Catcher interfers with batter and tags runner from third out ruling?

yea because while the batter interfer with the catcher the play is normaily stoped


What is the ruling when a batter hits a ball that hits the fence and goes over?

It is a Home Run.


If a line drive ball off the bat hits the runner on third base and flies in the air is the batter out when the third baseman catches the fly ball?

No. Once a batted ball strikes a baserunner the ruling is a dead ball. In this instance, if the runner is in fair territory, they player struck by the ball is out, and the batter is credited with a single --- if the runner is in foul territory and struck this is a foul ball. Same would apply with hitting the batting coach


In slow pitch softball can you hit a pitch that bounces on the plate first?

Back about 8 yrs ago when I was an ASA umpire, the ruling was that the ball was dead if it hit the plate.


What is the ruling when the pitched ball is hit then hits the catcher's mitt and falls to the ground?

if the cathcer is too close, a cather interference, if the batter is too far back, a batter interference


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter?

The answer is listed under 2.00 - "Definitions of Terms" official baseball rules. It states that: If a pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits a batter Is it a dead ball or live ball?

live ball


Is a batter hit by a bouncing pitched ball awarded 1st base?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.08(b) makes no distinction as to whether the ball does or does not hit the ground prior to hitting the batter. MLB Rule 6.08(b) is below: " He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball; If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched. APPROVED RULING: When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance. "


If a batter throws his bat is it a dead ball out?

A batter being out for throwing his bat is not a baseball rule -- this is just a rule that leagues put into their own rules for safety and you would have to refer to your league on that ruling. If we are talking MLB -- there is no rule for a batter being called out if he throws his bat


What is the ruling for ASA softball on a pitched ball that hits the black part of the plate I was told that if the ball hits the black then some part of it has hit the white therefore it is a ball?

I believe what you were told is correct


What is the ruling if the batter passes second base and play is ruled a ground rule double?

On a ground rule double, the batter is awarded second base and all runners advance two bases. The ball is dead.


If a pitch is hit off the ground into fair territory and the home plate umpire doesn't see it does the base umpire have to to call it foul or does the home plate umpire have to seek help on the call?

What help would be needed? In fastpitch softball it is legal to hit a pitch that touchs the ground 1st. In slo-pitch, then the ruling should be a foul ball. ---- It is also completely legal in MLB and little league baseball as well. In USSSA softball, if a pitched ball strikes the ground before crossing home plate not only can the batter legally hit the ball, but any runners on base may immediately leave their base and run toward the next base. If the batter does not swing and hit the ball, it is called a ball and the runners must return to their bases.


If a batter hits a pitched ball that bounces in front of the plate and it goes out of the park for a home run is this the correct ruling?

Yes, it is scored as a home run.


What is the ruling when a batter hits a grand slam but passes the runner at first between first and second...Does he get the RBIs...Does he get a single?

The batter is declared out and awarded a single since first base was the last base he reached safely before being called out. All three runners score and the batter is awarded 3 RBIs.


If a batters foot touches the side of the plate while swinging is the legal?

No. MLB Rule 6.03 states: "The batter's legal position shall be with both feet within the batter's box. APPROVED RULING: The lines defining the box are within the batter's box." Since home plate is not within the batter's box, touching the plate with a foot while swinging would not be legal.


What is the ruling if a pitched ball bounces before it hits the batter - slide1?

When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.


What is the ruling for when the ball lands on the center line volleyball?

If it goes over the net its the team that hit it that will get the point, but if it doesn't cross, it just like hitting on your side when if falls to the floor, so the point would go to the other team.


What is the ruling when the pitched ball hits the ground and then hits the batter?

It's still a dead ball (batter takes his base). Recommendme and message me if this was useful A hit by pitch can also be called on a pitch that has touched the ground. Such a bouncing pitch is like any other, and if a batter is hit by such a pitch, he will be awarded first unless he made no attempt to avoid it. A batter hit by a pitch is not credited with a hit or at bat, but is credited with a time on base and a plate appearance; therefore, being hit by a pitch does not increase or decrease a player's batting average but does increase his on-base percentage. A batter hit by a pitch with the bases loaded is also credited with an RBI per MLB rule 10.04(a)(2). [5] A pitch ruled a hit by pitch is recorded as a ball in the pitcher's pitch count, since by definition the ball must be outside the strike zone and not have been swung at. The batter doesnt get to take his/her base. It happened last year to a girl on my softball team. When it hits the ground it is a dead ball.