answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

It speaks to the necessity of the defending team to maintain control of a ball in play. Actually, logic does have a lot to do with it. You have to complete the play in Baseball. That's one of the oldest rules. The catcher has to control the ball, or it is in play. The fielders have to control the ball on the catch, or the ball is in play. The rule is one of the oldest in baseball, predating the "walk" or "base on balls." Before the existence of the walk, batters were not compelled to swing at pitchers as they are today. (In fact, there once was a time when batters could tell the pitcher to throw the ball high or low.) After the second strike, however, umpires could declare a subsequent pitch "good," which would compel the batter to swing at the next potentially good pitch. (In other words, he was given one warning!) After two strikes, if a batter "stuck at" a good pitch -- that is, if he swung at it and missed -- or if he failed to swing at a good pitch after having been warned, the batter was declared out. It was called a "hand out." If, however, the catcher failed to hold on to the ball, it was as if the batter put the ball in play. Oddly enough, "striking out" was as good as putting the ball in play if the catcher failed to hold on to the ball. The old rule books said as much. When I find a link to an archaic rule book, I'll post it. The logic was -- and still is -- that the defense must be in control of the ball when retiring a batter or base runner.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-02-26 00:40:17
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the purpose of the dropped third strike rule?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Does it matter if the batter swings or not on the dropped third strike rule?

No.


What is a rule in baseball?

in a dropped third strike you can still make it to first if you get there before the ball does


Can you run on a dropped third strike with the base occupied and two outs?

Yes, there is no uncaught third strike rule when there are two outs. Additionally, there is no infield fly rule when there are two outs. Both the uncaught third strike rule and infield fly rule are only in effect when there are zero or one outs.


What happens if there is one out and a runner on first with the dropped third strike rule?

The drop third strike rule only applies when there is no runner on first base. In this case nothing would happen but the batter would be out.


Why can a hitter run to first base on a strike 3 when the catcher drops the ball?

A hitter can only run to first if the catcher drops the third strike. Because of the dropped third strike rule.


Does batter have to swing at third strike to be eligible to advance on dropped pitch?

No he does not. He can take the pitch and if the catcher drops it or the ball gets by him the dropped third strike rule is in affect unless there is somone on first with less than 2 outs. If there are 2 outs the rule is in affect even with a runner on 1st.


Does reaching base on a dropped third strike count toward a player's on-base percentage?

No. Reaching base due to the uncaught third strike rule, an error, or fielder's choice does not increase on base percentage but decreases it.


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.


Why on a dropped third strike is the batter not out?

Because that is the rule- You'd have to ask the old timers that wrote the rule book??? It does give a batter a little life and a second chance after "nearly" striking out.


Does a batter get a RBI on a wild pitch?

Good question. The only thing that would be close to a WILD PITCH RBI would be if the batter swung at the pitch for a third strike, which of course the catcher couldn't catch. There would have to be a runner on third, and the batter would have to be safe at first on the dropped third strike rule. I do not believe that this would truly be an RBI though, because technically, a dropped third strike is like a walk, the batter is not credited with a hit.


Can a runner go to 1st on a dropped third strike by the catcher if 1st base is occupied?

No, If first base is open you are allowed to try to run to first on a missed 3rd strike but if it is occupied then you will immediately be called out unless there are two outs. If there are two outs the uncaught third strike rule does not apply.


What is the third strike drop rule?

it is where if the catcher drops the third strike pitched then the batter can run to first base. HOpe this helps :)

People also asked