Best Answer

no call. it is only catcher's interference if the catcher's equipment gets in the way of a swing.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the call if the batter hits the catchers glove on a backswing?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is it legal to hit a softball on your backswing?

yes. the umpire doesnt call the batter out though. i do believe it counts as a strike.

Do catchers call the pitches in MLB?

Some catchers are allowed more leeway to call pitches by their managers than others. But usually pitches are called by the manager or pitching coach and relayed to the pitcher by the catcher.

Will there be a 4th peter and the star catchers book?

Yes. It is call Peter and the Sword of Mercy

What is the call a batter hita drive passed the third base bag the fielder dives but the ball carems off his glove and goes in to the stands is this a short home run?

ground rule double.

Is it catcher interference if the batter fouls the ball and then hits the catchers glove on the follow through of the swing?

Yes, interference will be called if the umpire judges the catcher hindered the batter. If the ball is hit and the batter runner successfully reaches first and runners forced to advance or were stealing a base advanced the interference is ignored. If the batter runner is thrown out the manager has the option to accept the outcome of the play or accept the interference call placing the batter runner on first. If other runners are on base the manager's choice will affect them too. Accepting an interference call would require non-forced runners to return to their base. Consider a runner on third with no or one out when interference occurs. The batter runner is thrown out while the runner on third scores. Accepting the interference would require the runner scoring from third to return to third.

Will you be able to go to first base autuomaticlly by hitting the catchers mitt?

It depends on the location of the catcher's hand at the time of contact. If the mitt is extended well into the batters swing, then yes; if the batter is standing far back enough in the box to have created the contact then the umpire will decide the call... but it is not automatic.

What is catcher interferance?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.

If there is less than two strikes in a baseball game and the hitter tips the ball into the catcher's glove is it a strike or an out?

It's a strike. But if it happens when the batter has two strikes, it's an out, though I'm not sure whether they call it a strike-out or a fly-ball out.

Batter hits ground ball to 2nd basemen 2nd basemen throws to 1st basemen The first basemen catches the ball with bare hand and tags the Runner with Glove before he reaches 1st base What is the call?

Runner on first is out. Runner on second is safe because he was tagged while standing on second base.

What do you call ball that hits the ground and short hops into the fielders glove?


Who are the two people at home plate in baseball?

i believe that the two people at home plate are aptly named the umpire and the catcher. the umpires job is too call the game by either calling a strike, safe, out, ball, or batter walks. the catchers job is to receive the ball from anyone of the players on his/her team and try to get the runner out

What is a pitchers glove?

A pitcher glove, short stop, 2nd base, 3rd base and outfielders are usally all the same. 1st base and catcher are the only people who shouldn't use a "fielders glove" as most players call it.