Best Answer

In this situation, the term used is a "suicide squeeze". It sounds a little funny but the actual idea is this: Coach will give a sign to the batter to bunt. At the same time the runner at third base will run as soon as the bunt is layed down, sometimes if wanting to take the chance, as soon as the pitcher starts their delivery.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-04-03 05:03:24
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is it called when a runner tries to steal home and the batter tries to lay down a bunt?
Write your answer...
Related questions

What is it called when a runner is on third tries to score when the batter bunted?

It is called a sqeeze play. It is a form of sacrifice bunting, but when the running is on third, it is exclusively known as a squeeze play. Also, when this happens the batter's sole porpose is to get the runner in and not to reach base himself.

When a runner on base starts to run with the pitch and the batter knows he is going to run and tries definitely to hit the ball this is called?

being stoopfid

A play in which a runner on third base tries to score as the batter bunts the pitch?

That situation is referred to as a squeeze play. If the runner waits to make sure the bunt is a good one, it's called a safety squeeze, if the runner breaks with the pitch it's called a suicide squeeze.

If a batter hits the ball and tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?

If a batter hits the ball and a defensive player tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?If the official scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been put out at first, it is a Fielder's Choice. If the scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been safe at first anyway, it is a hit.This would be true, unless the runner is thrown out at the plate, then it would again be recorded as a Fielder's Choice.

Does Jerry like his mom?

Yes he does Jerry loves her and tries to steal her from his dad Yes he does Jerry loves her and tries to steal her from his dad Yes he does Jerry loves her and tries to steal her from his dad Yes he does Jerry loves her and tries to steal her from his dad

Does the runner score from third if batter tries to stretch a single and gets thrown out at second base?

If there are less than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, this is a timing play. If the runner crosses home plate before the batter is thrown out at second base, the run counts. If the batter is thrown out at second base before the runner crosses home plate, the run does not count.

How many bases can a softball batter get if it is over thrown?

If the overthrow causes the ball to go out of play, the runner earns one base. If the ball stays in play after the overthrow, the runner isn't earned anything. As long as the ball is in play, the fielder always has an opportunity to pick up the ball and throw a runner out if the runner tries to advance.

If there are runners on second and third and two outs and the runner from second tries to score on a single but is called out on an appeal does the first run count?

yes, whenever there is 2 outs and a person tries to score and makes it but the other runner gets out the run doesn't count.

Who tries to steal the dogs in 101 dilmation?

Cruella DeVille and she doesn't just try to steal them, she does steal them...but they escape.

When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."

How do you do a hit and run on mlb 2k10 my player xbox 360?

You try to steal (Hold RT and let go when the pitcher starts to pitch) and then instead of taking the pitch, the batter tries to hit it.

What cool about Apple?

He tries to steal the cereal from cinnamon.

When does rin meet the inuyasha gang?

When Jakken tries to steal the tetsuiga.

Does a batter get credit for a hit and RBI or is it a fielders choice with an RBI if the bases are loaded and the batter hits to an infielder who tries and fails to make a play at home?

The batter is credited with a Fielder's Choice only if, in the official scorer's opinion, the fielder could have easily retired another runner but elected not to do so.This is not an error.The batter gets credit for an RBI.I can foresee a scenario, like the one posted, where the ONLY possible play was to force the runner out at the plate. (Maybe it was a very good bunt) If the attempt to force out the runner at the plate is unsuccessful - you could award the batter with a hit and an RBI.In short, to answer this question accurately, more details about the nature of the play are needed.

What animal tries to steal the Trix Yogurt on the commercial?

A rabbit.

Is it possible to hit a single but not get to first base?

Yes it is posible. If a batter is to hit it into left field which would normally get him a single, but he also tries for second and is thrown out trying to get to second it will count as a single even though the runner is out.

What kind of blockade tries to slip pass the enemy ships?


Does a batter have to make a attempt to get out of the way of a dead ball hit pitch?

Rule 6.08 (b) states:The batter becomes a runner and is entitled to first base without liability to be out (provided he advances to and touches first base) when --(b) He is touched by a pitched ball which he is not attempting to hit unless (1) The ball is in the strike zone when it touched the batter, or (2) The batter makes no attempts to avoid being touched by the ball;If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a strike, whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it shall be called a ball if he makes no attempts to avoid being touched.When the batter is touched by a pitched ball which does not entitle him to first base, the ball is dead and no runner may advance.

Who always tries to steal the recipe for Krabby Patties?

Sheldon Plankton.

What is the kings name that tries to steal baby Jesus?

King Herod :)

Does the runner at third run scored count when there is one out and batter hits into a double play?

The only way that run would count is if it were not a continuous double play... For example, if the batter grounds into a routine double play, the run does not score... but if the batter were to fly out and another runner tries to tag up, and advance from 1st the second, or from 2nd to 3rd, and is thrown out in the process, as long as the runner for 3rd crosses home plate before the out is recorded, it counts. To simplify the answer a bit... If the double play occurs with both outs being recorded on force outs, no run scores. If there are multiple outs recorded, but are not force outs, the run scores as long as the runner crosses before the out is recorded.

What is pickel in softball?

A "pickle" in softball is when a runner is trapped in between two defensive players throwing the ball back and forth. The most common pickle occurs at home plate when a runner tries to steal home. The catcher will throw to the third baseman and she will then throw it back to the catcher. Honestly, the only way for the runner to end up being safe when in a pickle is if one of the defensive players drops the ball. Hope this helped

How can a team score 2 triples 1 double and 3 singles in one inning without scoring a run?

That is immpossible because if you hit a triple you have a guy on third. Then if you hit another triple then the runner scores because you force him/her to go off the base to home. <not so fast> It is possible. This play actually happened at the collegiate level. In one inning there was two triples, two doubles, two singles, nobody scores. 1st batter: deep shot in the gap runner rounds third and tries to go home and is gunned down (ruled a triple) 2nd batter: exact same play, runner gunned down trying to go home (ruled a triple) 3rd batter: hits double in the gap lands on second: 4th batter: hits double in the gap, runner on second tries to go home but trips on third base and sprains ankle. Crawls back to third. Runners on 2nd and 3rd with two outs. 5th batter: single in the 3 4 gap, left fielder prevents the run from scoring from 3rd. 6th batter: bases loaded two outs, hits the ball towards the 4 5 gap and hits the runner going from 2nd to 3rd. Runner is ruled out (interference) batter gets scored a single.

What is it scored as if a batter attempts a sac bunt with men on first and second and the fielder tries to get out the lead runner and everyone is safe with no error?

Its Fielders choice, and an infield hit. An error can be recorded if the play could have been executed but was not due to a bad throw or other circumstance. If no error occurs, it is a Fielder's Choice, however, if, in the Official Scorers judgement, the batter would have been retired with normal effort, the batter should be credited with a Sacrifice Hit. If, in the scorers judgement, the runner would have beat the throw to first with normal effort by the fielder, he should be credited with a hit, otherwise, no hit should be credited to the batter. Under normal circumstances, in the question as stated, it should be recorded as a Fielders Choice and Sacrifice (officially called a Sacrifice Hit) by the batter.

Meaning of batter is?

The batter is the player who has a bat in his hands and tries to hit the ball thrown by the pitcher.