answersLogoWhite

0

What is interference in baseball?

Updated: 9/27/2023
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

Best Answer

depends on the sport, but in Baseball yes he is out. its called bean-baging

EDIT: No. Baseball is not Kickball. A baserunner is not out if he/she is hit by a thrown ball as long as the baserunner is in the base path. If the runner is considered to have left the base path as so to interfere with a thrown ball, or made some other purposeful effort to impede the flight of the ball (ie, stick his/her hand or leg in the way), they can be called out for interference. This is a judgment call made at the discretion of one of the umpires. However, a baserunner is considered automatically out if struck by a batted ball.

And as far as I know, bean-bagging is not a term used in baseball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

The "Running Lane" Rule applies ONLY to runners going to first base, and the lane is only a guide. If a player intentionally interferes with a fielder while running to first, he is out no matter WHERE he may be. If he is hit by the thrown ball, he is out if he is outside the lane, but safe unless the ump rules INTENTIONAL interference.

There is no comparable running lane violation for third base.

HOWEVER, any player (or coach or manager) who, at any point of running the bases, INTENTIONALLY interferes with a fielder making a play, is out for interference. This can include deliberately running in such a way as to obstruct a throw to home.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Regardless of if it was intentional or not the runner is out. If there was a descent chance if a play to be made and if the runner did not do what he did and the ball still would not have hit him that it could be considered interference or obstruction and the batter would also be out... Most calls like this are to the discretion of the umpire... It's hard to determine if an action was intentional simetimes

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Base runner interference occurs whenever a player on base (offensive player) impedes the play of a defensive player. There are several ways to impede a defensive player.

1. The offensive player physically blocks, holds or collides with a defensive player. (There are exceptions to this rule, such as when the offensive player is trying to safely reach a base.)

2. The offensive player touches a batted ball while it is in play.

3. The offensive player blocks the throw of a defensive player when trying to throw the ball to another defensive player. The throw is blocked if it hits the offensive player.

Interference is called by an umpire. The interfering player is out and play stops.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

If a baserunner touches a baseball that the batter just hit, he is interfering with the defense making a fielding play and that baserunner is OUT!

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

If your not interfering with the play of the ball like you cant get in any of the fielders way

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

when a runner interferes with a fielders opportunity to field the ball, interference is called and it is an offensive foul. Obstruction is a defensive foul.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is interference in baseball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp