An onside kick in the NFL is the same in any other level of football. The onside kick is a strategy. After a team has scored a touchdown, that team must kick the ball to the opposing team. The kicking team may kick the ball as far as they want but if it goes out of bounds it is a pentalty. The ball must also pass ten yards before the kicking team can touch the ball and take possession of it. The goal of the onside kick is to recover the ball after the ball has crossed ten yards from where the ball was kicked, and set your offense up to score again. The onside kick is usually used when a team is losing and needs to score in a little amount of time. But, that is a tough thing to do because the opposing team has a better chance of recovering the ball than the kicking team.
The ball must travel 10 yards ( 30 ft. ) on an onside kick.
The packers are going to recover this onside kick
The onside kick from scrimmage was eliminated, in the collegiate game, before WWI -- around 1912, I believe. The NFL started in 1920. So I guess the answer is -- never. In the NFL, an onside kick is only possible on a kickoff or on a free kick after a safety. But has there ever been an onside drop kick? I don't know, but lets consider why that would rarely (if ever) happen: Kickoffs are required to be a place kick (from a tee). So the only time you could even attempt an onside drop kick is after a safety, which is one of the rarest plays in football. An onside kick after a safety is very dangerous, as the kick must be from the 20 yard line. The opponent could recover the ball already in field goal range. An onside kick must hit the ground to prevent the other team from calling for a fair catch. This is more difficult to pull off with a drop kick.
You go to the full playbook on kick-off. Then you select onside kick.
Cleveland Browns a number of years back. Can't remember exactly when.
No, it just has to go 10 yards from the spot kicked. That's how it is in the NFL I don't know about college.
yea you are not suppose to tell them but the way you line up for an onside kick they will know already.
Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.
No. Frank Gore of the 49ers was given a 5 yard penalty for calling fair catch after an onsides kick that didn't touch the ground.
Yes you can kick a touchdown. By kicking an onside kick recover it and return it for a touchdown.
an onside kick you try to kick it about ten yards and recover it, a punt you try to get it as far down field as you can. Also onside kicks have a tee, and punts you toss in the air and kick it
· off-tackle run · offside · onside kick · option offense · outside linebacker · Oakland Raiders (NFL)
no it is not.
As long as it goes 10 yards before bouncing back it is a legal kick
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
Actually, you can, as long as the ball has not hit the ground.
There is no such thing as an onside punt because if you punt it, the other team has to touch the ball before you can recover it. There is such thing as an onside kick on a kickoff when the ball can go ten yards then any team can recover it. Or on an onside kickoff if it hits the receiving team, anyone can recover it