What is a bcs bowl?

Updated: 11/10/2022
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Best Answer

BCS stands for Bowl Championship Series. The BCS is the system that selects the Division 1-A College Football teams to play in the BCS bowl games at the conclusion of each football season. There are 5 BCS Bowl Games:

1. Rose Bowl: Pac 10 champ vs. Big Ten champ

2. Sugar Bowl: SEC champ vs. BCS selection

3. Fiesta Bowl: Big 12 champ vs. BCS selection

4. Orange Bowl: ACC champ vs. BCS selection

5. BCS National Championship Game: BCS #1 vs. BCS #2 If the champion of one of the 5 major conferences with BCS ties (bold above) is ranked #1 or #2 in the BCS and goes to the BCS NC game, then the bowl that has the tie to that conference may select another team, based on BCS ranking. For example, if USC wins the Pac 10 and is ranked #1 at the end of the regular season, then the Rose Bowl can select another team to play against the Big Ten champion. Otherwise, the specific Bowl must take the champion of the respective conference. In addition, Notre Dame gets an automatic berth if it finishes in the top 8 in the BCS ranking; the Big East champion gets an automatic berth to one of the games; and a non-BCS-conference team ranked in the top 12 (or in the top 16 and ranked higher than at least one BCS conference champion) gets an automatic berth, but only one non-BCS conference team can get a berth each year.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a bcs bowl?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is the fedeX orange bowl a BCS bowl?

Yes aswell as the Fiesta Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Rose Bowl, and the BCS Championship Game.

Who played in the 1997 BCS bowl?

The BCS began in 1998

How many BCS bowl games has Arkansas played in?

The 2011 Sugar Bowl was Arkansas' first BCS bowl in school history.

Who won a BCS bowl for college in 1995?

BCS began in 1998

How many BCS bowl games have the Texas longhorns won?

57 BCS bowl wins,32 other bowls win.36 bowl loses

How many bsc bowl games are there?

There are 5. There is the Orange Bowl, Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, and the BCS National Championship. There are a total of 35 bowls including the 5 BCS bowls.

What does the BCS stand for in the BCS national championship game?

It stands for Bowl championship series.

When did the BCS begin in college football?

The first BCS season was in 2003 with the BCS Championship Game in 2004. It was won by the LSU Tigers. They beat the Oklahoma Sooners 21-14.

Why is the Bcs championship being played in the Rose Bowl?

Because it is the Rose Bowl's turn in the rotation. The BCS national championship rotates between the 4 BCS bowls. (Sugar, Orange, Rose, Fiesta)

Why is TCU playing in the Rose Bowl?

For the 2010 season, if either the Big 10 champion or PAC 10 champion is playing in the BCS National Championship Game and a non-BCS team qualifies for a BCS bowl, that team will play in the Rose Bowl. The University of Oregon won the PAC 10 and would normally play in the Rose Bowl. But since they are playing in the National Championship Game, obviously, they can't play in the Rose Bowl. So TCU, a non-BCS team that qualified for a BCS bowl, was slotted to play in the Rose Bowl.

What does bcs stanf for?

Bowl Championship Series.

How are bowl teams determined?

the bcs committee